S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EP8—Resonant Optics—Fundamentals and Applications

Resonant optics is a technologically important approach to engineer light-matter interactions. It is also at the core of many current research fields such as plasmonics and metamaterials. Resonant optical devices typically consists of micro- and nano-fabricated structures whose response is controlled by both the materials used and their geometry. Furthermore, resonant optical devices allow the concentration of the electromagnetic field in small volumes, improving the coupling of nonlinear or quantum phenomenon to the far-field. This symposium will explore the range of materials used in resonant optics including the traditional metals, as well as semiconductors, dielectrics, and exotic materials like graphene and other 2D materials. It will cover applications of resonant optics including metasurfaces, optical antennas, active photonic devices, sensors, and light sources.

The fabrication of resonant optical devices is still a challenge. The size and shape of the resonant structures often requires expensive lithography, limiting their use in large and cheap devices. This symposium will be an opportunity to discuss new fabrications approaches based on chemical synthesis and self-assembly, for example.

Submissions are encouraged on all aspects of the resonant optic phenomena including theory, materials, simulations, fabrication, and applications.

Topics will include:

  • Dielectric resonant optics
  • Novel plasmonic, semi-conductor, and 2D materials
  • Optics in random media
  • Optical antennas
  • Nonlinear and tunable metamaterials and plasmonics
  • Metasurfaces
  • Simulation/modeling approaches
  • Fabrication, synthesis, self-assembly of resonant optic devices

Invited Speakers:

  • Andrea Alù (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Dimitri Basov (University California, San Diego, USA)
  • Alexandra Boltasseva (Purdue University, USA)
  • Sergey I. Bozhevolnyi (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)
  • Igal Brener (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Mark Brongersma (Stanford University, USA)
  • Josh Caldwell (U.S. Navy Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Filippo Capolino (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Boubacar Kanté (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Philippe Lalanne (Institut d'Optique, France)
  • Natasha Litchinitser (University of Buffalo, USA)
  • Stefan Maier (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Peter Nordlander (Rice University, USA)
  • Gennady Shvets (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Michael Sinclair (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Andrea Tao (University of California, San Diego, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Stéphane Larouche
Duke University
Department of Electical and Computer Engineering

Regina Ragan
University of California, Irvine
Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
949-824-6830, rragan@uci.edu

Jason Valentine
Vanderbilt University
Department of Mechanical Engineering