S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EP9—Materials and Processes for Nonlinear Optics

Photonic technologies have become increasingly important in our daily life since we entered the 21st century. From optical computing, telecommunications, ultra-high density data storage, image processing, display or recording, to ultrafast switching, photonic technologies are playing an indispensable role. The advance of these technologies depends on a fundamental understanding of nonlinear optical processes and the development of nonlinear optical materials, which provide key functions in harmonic generation, frequency mixing and optical switching.

This symposium will focus on recent developments and advances in nonlinear optical materials, characterization techniques, new methods in simulation or prediction of nonlinear optical effects, novel applications of nonlinear phenomena, etc. New devices utilizing nonlinear optical processes are also of interest to this symposium.

Topics will include:

  • Novel nonlinear optical materials and structures
  • Methods and techniques of nonlinear spectroscopy
  • Novel optical applications of nonlinear phenomena
  • Second-order, third-order and higher order processes (nonlinear absorption, nonlinear refraction, stimulated scattering, harmonic generation, wave mixing, etc.)
  • Applications of nonlinear optical effects in nanostructures and metamaterials
  • Simulation or theoretical calculation of nonlinear optical effects
  • Exploitation of nonlinear optics in waveguides, fibers and surface waves

Invited Speakers:

  • Hans Agren (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Chantal Andraud (ENS-Lyon, France)
  • Koen Clays (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium)
  • Narayana Rao Desai (University of Hyderabad, India)
  • Steve Flom (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Mark Gordon (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Kenji Kamada (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan)
  • I. C. Khoo (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Seth Marder (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Katarzyna Matczyszyn (Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland)
  • Olivier Mongin (University of Rennes 1, France)
  • Reji Philip (Raman Research Institute, India)
  • Timothy Pritchett (RDECOM Forward Element Command-Americas, USA)
  • Jingui Qin (Wuhan University, China)
  • Kirk Schanze (University of Florida, USA)
  • Eric van Stryland (University of Central Florida, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Wenfang Sun
North Dakota State University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
701-231-6254, wenfang.sun@ndsu.edu

Thomas Cooper
Air Force Research Laboratory
Materials and Manufacturing Directorate

Mark Humphrey
Australian National University
Research School of Chemistry
61-2-6125-2927, mark.humphrey@anu.edu.au

Marek Samoc
Wroclaw University of Technology
Faculty of Chemistry
48-71-320-4466, marek.samoc@pwr.edu.pl