S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium MD3—Functional Oxide Heterostructures by Design

Unlike conventional semiconductors, metal oxides have a greater ionicity in their bond and exhibit orbital freedom for the oxygen ions in the lattice. In addition, oxides display a strong interplay between the electron, spin, orbital and structural degrees of freedom. Consequently, many functional properties such as ferroelectricity, piezoelectricity, thermoelectricity, ferromagnetism, and superconductivity feature much more prominently in these systems than they do in conventional semiconductors.

Recent advances in atomic-scale oxide thin film growth have enabled layer-by-layer design of oxide heterostructures, providing an unprecedented control of their physical properties which offer potential solutions to the fundamental limits of scalability of conventional semiconductor technology. These capabilities are based on operating principles that are confined to shorter length scales as well as the broad range of functionality offered by complex oxide materials. New physical properties and behavior that are absent in bulk can be engineered. Examples include high-mobility two-dimensional electron gases and interface magnetism/superconductivity. Moreover, an increasing number of experiments has shown that it is possible to tune the emergent properties through the precise control of boundary conditions in the heterostructures such as strain, chemical composition, crystallographic symmetry, electric field effects, interfacial proximity, surface decoration, capping layers etc. For example, many energy-harvesting and storage devices composed of oxides are designed to utilize energy quanta (i.e., electrons, ions, photons, phonons) by electrostatic, chemical, optical, or mechanical means through interfacing with dissimilar materials.

This symposium aims to provide a multidisciplinary forum with the participation of scientists and engineers from various backgrounds in order to promote the discussion on advanced oxides and interfaces and their implementation in energy, information storage, and future advanced technology.

Topics will include:

  • Epitaxial stabilization of complex oxides
  • Oxide heterostructures and superlattices
  • Electrochemical gating and ionic conductors
  • Atomic-scale imaging/spectroscopy
  • Novel templates for oxide thin films
  • Experimental and theoretical approaches for fast materials design, discovery, or characterization
  • In-situ studies/characterization of oxide thin films
  • Interfacial reconstruction of structural and physical properties
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Elke Arenholz (Advanced Light Source, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Agnes Barthelemy (Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales, France)
  • Jak Chakhalian (University of Arkansas, USA)
  • Woo Seok Choi (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Michael Coey (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Ulrieke Diebold (Technische Universität Wien, Austria)
  • Panchapakesan Ganesh (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Fabio Miletto Granozio (CNR-SPIN Institute Naples, Italy)
  • Harold Hwang (Stanford University, USA)
  • Nenad Markovic (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Masao Nakamura (RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science, Japan)
  • Tae Won Noh (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Beatriz Noheda (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Stuart Parkin (Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Halle/Saale, Germany)
  • Guus Rijnders (University of Twente, Netherlands)
  • James Rondinelli (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Takayoshi Sasaki (National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan)
  • George Sawatzky (The University of British Columbia, Canada)
  • Thorsten Schmitt (Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland)
  • Yang Shao-Horn (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Hidenori Takagi (Max-Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Jo Verbeeck (University of Antwerp, Belgium)
  • Zhicheng Zhong (Universität Würzburg, Germany)

Symposium Organizers

Ariando Ariando
National University of Singapore
Department of Physics
65-6516-7900, ariando@nus.edu.sg

Gertjan Koster
University of Twente
MESA+ Institute for Nanotechnology
31-53-4894710, g.koster@utwente.nl

Ho-Nyung Lee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
865-574-9782, hnlee@ornl.gov

Yayoi Takamura
University of California, Davis
Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
530-754-7124, ytakamura@ucdavis.edu