S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium MD5—Fundamentals of Organic Semiconductors—Synthesis, Morphology, Devices and Theory

Organic semiconductors are promising materials to enable low-cost fabrication of large area, solution-processed devices for application in solar cells, displays, lighting, transistors, and other electronic devices. The ability to design wide-ranging materials has been the source of immense progress, but also requires in-depth understanding of fundamental organic semiconductor properties. This symposium will present current efforts made in addressing the grand challenges of organic electronics. Focus will be centered on advances in materials design, materials processing and self-assembly, process-structure-property relationships, experimental and computational studies of bulk and interfacial properties at various length and time scales, device fabrication, device degradation, device physics, charge carrier transport and exciton dynamics in organic semiconductors and blends thereof.

Topics will include:

  • Advanced characterization techniques
  • Design and synthesis of polymers and small-molecules
  • Vacuum- and solution-processable semiconductors
  • Organic single crystalline materials/devices
  • Process-structure-property relationship
  • Morphology of blends and interfaces
  • Advanced computational techniques
  • Photophysical phenomena
  • Degradation phenomena and device lifetime characterization
  • Solution drying, phase transformation, self-assembly and film formation
  • Device physics and transport in small-molecules, polymers and blends

Invited Speakers:

  • Mamatimin Abbas (University of Bordeaux, France)
  • Thomas Anthopoulos (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Jean-Luc Bredas (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Michael Chabinyc (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Martin Heeney (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Paul Heremans (IMEC, Belgium)
  • Arthi Jayaraman (University of Delaware, USA)
  • Oana Jurchescu (Wake Forest University, USA)
  • Howard Katz (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Mahmut Kus (Selcuk University, Turkey)
  • Christine Luscombe (University of Washington, USA)
  • Stefan Mannsfeld (Dresden University, Germany)
  • Christian Muller (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Vitaly Podzorov (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Barry Rand (Princeton University, USA)
  • Lee Richter (National Institute of Science and Technology, USA)
  • Garry Rumbles (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Alberto Salleo (Stanford University, USA)
  • Sahar Sharifzadeh (Boston University, USA)
  • Natalie Stingelin (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Bob Street (Palo Alto Research Center, USA)
  • Kazuo Takimya (Riken, Japan)
  • Alessandro Troisi (University of Warwick, United Kingdom)
  • Jishan Wu (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

Symposium Organizers

Alejandro L. Briseno
University of Massachusetts
Polymer Science and Engineering

Aram Amassian
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST)
Materials Science and Engineering
Saudi Arabia

Iain McCulloch
Imperial College London
Department of Chemistry
United Kingdom

Özlem Usluer
Konya Necmettin Erbakan University
Department of Energy System Engineering
413-577-1213, ousluer@konya.edu.tr