S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium NT4—Emerging Non-Graphene 2D Materials

Two-dimensional (2D) materials with atomic scale thickness have emerged as a new frontier of material science. The non-graphene 2D materials can provide a large number of new functionalities that cannot be obtained from graphene. Given the recent astonishing developments in this field, this symposium is dedicated to promoting communication among researchers working on 2D non-graphene materials. It will mainly focus on transition metal dichalcogenide, phosphorus, silicene, and germanene as well as the synthesis, fundamental properties, and applications of these materials.of these 2D materials.

Topics will include:

  • Controlled Scalable synthesis of 2D materials
  • Heterostructures of 2D materials
  • Fundamental chemistry and physics of 2D materials
  • Atomically thin 2D materials for energy applications
  • First principle modeling for 2D materials
  • Electronic/optical/magnetic properties and devices of 2D materials

Invited Speakers:

  • Pulickel Ajayan (Rice University, USA)
  • Kaustav Banerjee (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Andres Castellanos-Gomez (IMDEA Nanoscience, Spain)
  • Yi Cui (Stanford University, USA)
  • Madan Dubey (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Goki Eda (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Hongyou Fan (Sandia National Laboratory, USA)
  • Joshua Goldberger (Ohio State University, USA)
  • Roman Gorbachev (Manchester University, United Kingdom)
  • Jeffrey Grossman (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Francisco Guinea (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Spain)
  • Yu Huang (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Ali Javey (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Jeanie Lau (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Zhongfan Liu (Peking University, China)
  • Steven Louie (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Xavier Marie (Université de Toulouse, France)
  • Paul McEuen (Cornell University, USA)
  • Qing Paduano (U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Farhan Rana (Cornell University, USA)
  • Joshua Robinson (Penn State University, USA)
  • P. James Schuck (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Eric Vogel (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Andrew Wee (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Fengnian Xia (Yale University, USA)
  • Huili Xing (Cornell University, USA)
  • Qihua Xiong (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Boris Yakobson (Rice University, USA)
  • Ting Yu (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Yong Zhang (University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA)
  • Yongwei Zhang (Agency for Science, Technology and Research, Singapore)

Symposium Organizers

Linyou Cao
North Carolina State University
919-515-5407, lcao2@ncsu.edu

Bruce Claflin
Air Force Research Laboratory

Thomas Mueller
Vienna University of Technology
43-1-58801-38739, thomas.mueller@tuwien.ac.at

Hua Zhang
Nanyang Technological University
65-6790 5175, hzhang@ntu.edu.sg