S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium SM1—Liquid Crystalline Materials—Displays and Beyond

Liquid crystals are the pervasive display technology in devices ranging from wristwatches to ultra-high resolution televisions. In the last century, this special class of matter has made a remarkable transition from scientific curiosity to ubiquitous to everyday life. The distinctive properties that enable the utility of liquid crystals in displays has also motivated extensive research relating to the general topics of optics (photonics), mechanics, and biomedicine. The utilization of liquid crystals in these areas are examining a diverse range of materials including low-molar mass, polymeric, and composites thereof and range from molecular synthesis to device physics. The goal of this symposium is to contextualize recent advances in liquid crystalline materials with a particular emphasis on research extending the utility of these materials beyond displays into applications such as artificial muscles, microfluidics (lab on chip), chem-bio sensors, optical elements, nanofabrication, smart windows, metamaterials, mechanical actuators, and energy saving/generation/harvesting.

Topics will include:

  • Dynamic liquid crystal optical elements
  • Liquid crystal polymers and elastomers for actuation
  • Fundamentals of liquid crystal/nanomaterial composites
  • Polymer/liquid crystal composites
  • Liquid crystal colloids
  • Topology and geometry of liquid crystal confinement
  • Chiral molecular motors
  • Liquid crystal lasers
  • Liquid crystals for energy generation/harvesting
  • Nanoparticle/liquid crystal dispersions
  • Ion conductive liquid crystal materials for battery applications
  • Stimuli-responsive liquid crystals as smart optical elements/sensors
  • Nanostructured liquid crystal materials for optical and bio-based applications

Invited Speakers:

  • Nick Abbott (University of Wisconsin, USA)
  • Etienne Brasselet (CNRS, France)
  • Maria Helena Figueiredo Godinho (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Takashi Kato (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Oleg Lavrentovich (Kent State University, USA)
  • Min-Hui Li (CNRS, France)
  • Yi-Hsin Lin (National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan)
  • Igor Musevic (Josef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)
  • Philippe Poulin (CNRS, France)
  • Mykola Tasinkevych (Max Planck Institute, Germany)
  • Rafael Verduzco (Rice University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Timothy White
Air Force Research Laboratory
Materials and Manufacturing Directorate

L.C. Chien
Kent State University
Liquid Crystal Institute
330-672-3827, lchien@kent.edu

Helen Gleeson
University of Leeds
School of Physics and Astronomy
United Kingdom

Ivan Smalyukh
University of Colorado
Department of Physics