S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium SM9—Structure and Properties of Biological Materials and Bioinspired Designs

Biological systems, which use extracellular matrices for structural support and defense as well as other functions, are now providing materials science with new opportunities for design and application. These systems adapt to changing ambient conditions, continually refining and adjusting shape through chemical, cellular, and mechanical signaling. The interface between biology and materials science has rapidly emerged to be at the forefront of materials research. Connecting structural features (nano, micro, meso and macro) to the resulting mechanical properties is important towards understanding not only functional aspects but also new materials and system designs.

The concept behind developing bioinspired materials is to adapt designs and features from complex, multifunctional biological systems, which use natural components, to produce structures with high performance synthetic engineering materials. This requires a systems approach combining the expertise of engineers with life scientists to study, refine and develop materials with complex, hierarchical structures.

This symposium covers interdisciplinary topics related to structural and functional investigations of biological materials, biomimetic and bioinspired systems and will encompass invited abstracts from researchers in materials science and engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, biology, physics and chemistry. How biological systems respond and adapt to external mechanical stimuli will also be addressed.

Topics will include:

  • Segmented, sliding and articulating systems
  • Mineralization, crystallization
  • Modeling and simulation
  • Bioinspired materials and structures
  • Helical, lamellar, sandwich, foam, tubular, suture and gradient structures
  • Structure / function (e.g., mechanical, optical, thermal property) relationships

Invited Speakers:

  • Joanna Aizenberg (Harvard University, USA)
  • Atsushi Arakaki (Tokyo University Agriculture and Technology, Japan)
  • José Arias (University of Chile, Chile)
  • Francois Barthelat (McGilll University, Canada)
  • Markus Buehler (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Po-Yu Chen (Hysitron, USA)
  • Lei Jiang (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Takashi Kato (Tokyo University, Japan)
  • Rajesh Naik (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Thomas Speck (University of Freiburg, Germany)
  • Pablo Zavattieri (Purdue University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Joanna McKittrick
University of California, San Diego
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
858-534-5425, jmckittrick@ucsd.edu

Eduard Arzt
INM - Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien

David Kisailus
University of California, Riverside
Chemical and Environmental Engineering
951-827-4310, david@engr.ucr.edu

Yurong Ma
Peking University
Beijing National Laboratory for Molecular Sciences
86-1062753269, yurong.ma@pku.edu.cn