S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium CM6—Dislocation Microstructures and Plasticity

Dislocations commonly form microstructures in crystalline materials during mechanical deformation. Dislocation structures have also been characterized to describe interfaces including grain boundaries and interphase boundaries. Formation and evolution of dislocation structures play crucial roles in determining the mechanical, plastic, and irradiation properties of the materials. The long-range elastic interaction and various short-range interactions of dislocations, stochastic effects of dislocations, and interactions of dislocations with other crystalline defects are essential for the energetics and dynamics of these dislocation ensembles. Developments have been made to understand dislocation structures and properties, incorporate more detailed local dislocation mechanisms in the continuum level plasticity modeling, and simulate large-scale systems and/or for long-time using discrete dislocation dynamics and atomistic models. Recent experimental results have also enabled in-depth understanding of dislocation-related mechanical and plastic properties of materials. These achievements provide bases for the further development of novel materials with specialized functions. The recent developments of modeling, simulation, and experimental approaches and new findings in this research area will be discussed in this symposium.

Topics will include:

  • Dislocations in complex materials
  • Dislocation-based plasticity
  • Atomic scale dislocation mechanisms
  • Dislocation structures of interfaces
  • Dislocations in irradiated materials
  • Dislocation microstructures microscopies

Invited Speakers:

  • Amit Acharya (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Peter Anderson (Ohio State University, USA)
  • Wei Cai (Stanford University, USA)
  • Benoit Devincre (LEM, CNRS-ONERA, France)
  • Jafaar El-Awady (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Marc Fivel (SIMAP-GPM2, Univ. Grenoble Alpes – CNRS, France)
  • Nasr Ghoniem (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Weizhong Han (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)
  • Nan Li (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Dan Mordehai (Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)
  • Alfonso Ngan (University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Wolfgang Pantleon (Denmark Technology University, Denmark)
  • Giacomo Po (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Arun Prakash (University of Erlangen, Germany)
  • David J Srolovitz (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Bob Svendsen (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH, Germany)
  • Peter Voorhees (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Guozhen Zhu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Yang Xiang
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Department of Mathematics
Hong Kong
852-23587430, maxiang@ust.hk

Stefan Sandfeld
Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
Department of Materials Science
49-(0)911-65078-65067, stefan.sandfeld@fau.de

Yao Shen
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
School of Materials Science and Engineering
86-21-34203763, yaoshen@sjtu.edu.cn

Jian Wang
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
402-472-1514, jianwang@unl.edu