S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium ED14—Molecular and Colloidal Plasmonics—Synthesis and Applications

Progress directed toward the application of noble metal nanostructures is reliant on the establishment of chemical, electrical, and optical response to meet the demands of specific applications. Synthetic based methods yeilding complex geometries with asymmetric or hollowed morphologies or other dissimilar nanomaterial coupling phenomena. Such work has been the cornerstone for advancing device applications which uses nanomaterials. With recent discoveries in the areas of water-splitting, the catalytic conversion of CO2, spectroscopy, drug delivery, chemical and biological sensing, ferrroplasmonics, the resonant couping magnetic recording, there exists both a broadening scope of potential appliactions and the realization to reach the stage of commerialization.

The objective of the symposium is to unite the community of researchers advancing synthetic processes and those focused on demonstrating the applicability of these photoactive materials. Together, these groups demonstrate current synthetic and device capabilities while defining the architectural requirements for generation of plasmonic devices.

Topics will include:

  • Noble Metal nanostructues for catalytic applications
  • Noble metal nanoparticles for photocatalysts
  • Molecular plasmonics for nanoscale spectroscopy
  • Plasmonic Fano Resonances
  • Ferroplasmons
  • Magnic recording using plasmonic antennas
  • Advanced synthetic routes for obtaining colloidal dispersions of plasmonic nanostructures
  • Advanced synthetic routes for obtaining photoactive plasmonic surfaces
  • Noble metal nanostructues for drug delivery and pharmaceutical applications
  • Chemical sensors with plasmonic nanomaterials as the sensing element
  • Biological sensors with plasmonic nanomaterials as the sensing element
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Jeremy Baumberg (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Eric Borguet (Temple University, USA)
  • Dmitry Chigrin (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Mostafa El-Sayed (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Hongyou Fan (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Amanda Haes (University of Iowa, USA)
  • Jason Hafner (Rice University, USA)
  • Naomi Halas (Rice University, USA)
  • Mikael Kall (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Giolang (Greg) Liu (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA)
  • Martin Moskovits (University of California, USA)
  • Catherine Murphy (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Ki Nam (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Peter Nordlander (Rice University, USA)
  • Michelle Personick (Wesleyan University, USA)
  • Marc Porter (University of Utah, USA)
  • Dong Qin (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Jennifer Shumaker-Parry (University of Utah, USA)
  • Sara Skrabalak (Indiana University, USA)
  • Jianfang Wang (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China)
  • Younan Xia (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Can Xue (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Yadong Yin (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Jing Zhao (University of Connecticut, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Radha Narayanan
DesignPure NanoCryst, LLC

Jingyi Chen
University of Arkansas
Chemistry and Biochemistry Departments
479-575-6203, chenj@uark.edu

Svetlana Neretina
University of Notre Dame
College of Engineering
574-631-6127, sneretina@nd.edu

Anatoliy Pinchuk
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Physics Department
719-255-3556, apinchuk@uccs.edu