S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium ES13—Interfaces and Interphases in Electrochemical Energy Storage and Conversion

Interfaces and interphases are at the heart of the electrochemical reactions. Manipulating interfaces and interphases so that the electrochemical reactions and processes take place in a controlled and desired way can have a profound impact on the performance of the electrochemical energy storage and conversion devices. In the past years, there have been significant efforts in understanding interfaces and interphases in electrochemical energy devices such as batteries, fuel cells, and electrolyzers. These advances include metal ion (Li+, Na+, Mg2+, etc.) accommodations and charge transfers in batteries, and the oxygen reduction/evolution, the hydrogen oxidation/evolution, and the CO2 reduction, small molecule oxidation, biomass-derived chemicals/fuels upgrading. Yet, despite these efforts, the performance, efficiency, lifetime, and cost still need further improvements; materials innovation and discovery, fundamental insights of these interfaces/interphases will play a critical role in aiding these developments; In-Situ/Operando methods e.g. TEM and spectroscopy and related simulation tools are emerging, even well established for some cases, as a critically important approach for directly probing electrochemical interfaces/interphases, providing essential insight to mechanism understanding, new solutions and materials discovery. The aim of this symposium is to provide an interdisciplinary discussion forum about the current status and future perspectives, including challenges and opportunities in this field.

Topics will include:

  • New electrolytes/additives for batteries
  • Solid-solid interface/interphase in batteries
  • Solid-state electrolytes and solid-state batteries
  • Oxygen reduction/evolution electrocatalysis
  • Hydrogen oxidation/evolution electrocatalysis
  • Solid-electrolyte interface/interphase (SEI) in batteries (Li, Na, Mg, etc.)
  • Electrocatalysis for CO2 reduction, small molecule oxidation, biomass upgrading
  • In-Situ/Operando, e.g. in-situ TEM, in-situ spectroscopy, operando synchrotron, operando neutron scattering, and simulation tools
  • New concepts for electrochemical energy storage and conversion
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Doron Aurbach (Bar Ilan University, Israel)
  • Nitash Balsara (University of California, Berkeley/Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Gianluigi Botton (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Jaephil Cho (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Ethan Crumlin (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yi Cui (Stanford University, USA)
  • Nancy Dudney (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Thomas Jaramillo (Stanford University, USA)
  • Kevin Leung (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Jun Lu (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Dean Miller (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jagjit Nanda (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • David Prendergast (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Andrea Russell (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Thomas Schmidt (Paul Scherrer Institut, Swaziland)
  • Reza Shahbazian-Yassar (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)
  • Yang Shao-Horn (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Dee Strand (Wildcat Discovery Technologies, USA)
  • Chongmin Wang (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jun Wang (A123, USA)
  • Masayoshi Watanabe (Yokohama University, Japan)
  • Kang Xu (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Xiqian Yu (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Science, China)
  • Kevin Zavadil (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Yuyan Shao
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
509-371-6228, yuyan.shao@pnnl.gov

David Mitlin
Clarkson University
315-268-6325, dmitlin@clarkson.edu

Jin Suntivich
Cornell University

Lynn Trahey
Argonne National Laboratory
510-486-5271, trahey@anl.gov