S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium ES4—Nanogenerators and Piezotronics

Scavenging ambient energy into electricity by nanogenerators offers a unique approach for powering electronics and sensors system. The integration of nanogenerators, energy storage units and functional devices has led to the implementation of self-powered systems for various emerging applications in implantable electronics, nanorobotics, and wearable devices. The coupling between piezoelectric polarization and semiconductor properties in piezoelectric semiconductors gives rise to unprecedented device characteristics. This has increased research interest in the emerging fields of piezotronics and piezo-phototronics, which offer new means of manipulating charge-carrier processes in flexible devices through the application of external mechanical stimuli. This symposium aims to advance fundamental understandings and technological development of nanogenerators and piezotronics/piezo-phototronics. Abstracts on theoretical and experimental study of piezoelectric, ferroelectric and dielectric nanomaterials; applications of nanogenerators for self-powered devices; fundamental coupling between piezoelectric/ferroelectric polarization and semiconductor properties in 1D/2D nanomaterials and their applications are particularly welcome.

Topics will include:

  • Self-powered nanodevice design, integration and application
  • 1D/2D piezoelectric/ferroelectric nanomaterials: synthesis, characterization, and integration for nanogenerator and sensing applications
  • Triboelectric nanogenerators for energy harvesting and Tribotronics for electronics/sensors
  • Novel strategies in design and integration of hybrid cells for concurrently harvesting multi-type energies
  • Hybridization of nanogenerators with energy storage units: design, integration and power management
  • Piezotronics/piezo-phototronics for electronics, optoelectronics and catalysis
  • Integration and nanomanufacturing of large-scale piezoelectric array devices for energy and sensing applications
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Jeong-Min Baik (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Mehmet Bayindir (Bilkent University, Turkey)
  • Lucia Beccai (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy)
  • Xia Cao (University of Science and Technology Beijing, China)
  • Alexandre Cuenat (National Physical Laboratory, United Kingdom)
  • Horacio Espinosa (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Jean Fompeyrine (IBM Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Till Frömling (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Jianhua Hao (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong)
  • Jr-Hau He (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Weiguo Hu (Beijing Institute of Nanoenergy and Nanosystems, China)
  • Kourosh Kalantar-Zadeh (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australia)
  • Sohini Kar-Narayan (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Sang-Woo Kim (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Keon Jae Lee (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Pooi See Lee (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Chuan-Pu Liu (National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan)
  • Hong Liu (Shandong University, China)
  • Glenn Martyna (IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, USA)
  • Max Migliorato (University of Manchester, United Kingdom)
  • Serge Nakhmanson (University of Connecticut, USA)
  • Luigi Occhipinti (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Caofeng Pan (Beijing Institute of Nanoenergy and Nanosystems, China)
  • Shashank Priya (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA)
  • Yong Qin (Lanzhou University, China)
  • Armando Rastelli (Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Evan Reed (Stanford University, USA)
  • Gregory Rohrer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Oliver Schmidt (Institute for Solid State and Materials Research Dresden, Germany)
  • Wei-Heng Shih (Drexel University, USA)
  • Susan Trolier-McKinstry (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Massimo De Vittorio (Università del Salento, Italy)
  • Xudong Wang (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • Zhong Lin Wang (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Magnus Willander (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Morten Willatzen (TU Denmark, Denmark)
  • Tao Wu (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Yue Zhang (University of Science and Technology Beijing, China)
  • Jun Zhou (Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China)

Symposium Organizers

Wenzhuo Wu
Purdue University
School of Industrial Engineering
765-494-7082, wenzhuowu@purdue.edu

Christian Falconi
University of Tor Vergata
Department of Electronic Engineering
39-06-7259-7267, falconi@eln.uniroma2.it

Rusen Yang
University of Minnesota-Twin City
Department of Mechanical Engineering
612-626-4318, yangr@me.umn.edu

Junyi Zhai
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Beijing Institute of Nanoenergy and Nanosystems
86-10-82854798, jyzhai@binn.cas.cn