S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium ES7—(Photo)Electrocatalytic Materials and Integrated Assemblies for Solar Fuels ProductionDiscovery, Characterization and Performance

Carbon neutral energy sources that are scalable, deployable, and cost effective will be required at an unprecedented scale to halt irreversible climate change. Expanded utilization of solar energy requires efficient and inexpensive storage of intermittent power for use on demand. Solar fuels from water splitting are one of the most promising methods to store bulk renewable energy because they can provide an energy-dense fuel, with a minimal carbon footprint, and without competing with food stocks.

Photoelectrochemical systems that perform direct reduction of carbon dioxide to solar fuels represent an attractive route towards the production of next generation fuels on demand. However, the availability of (photo)electrocatlytic systems that can efficiently and selectively reduce carbon dioxide is currently limited. In addition, materials system integration poses significant challenges as catalyst//semiconductor and/or protection layer/semiconductor interface formation adds complexity in addressing functionality and performance issues. Therefore, deep understanding of materials property as isolated as well as integrated systems is absolutely vital to promote fast advancements in this field.

This symposium fosters a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary approach to production of solar fuels. Latest results and advancements in photoelectrochemical systems, with specific focus on CO2 reduction, are presented. Specific focus on catalyst discovery with high activity and selectivity for CO2 reduction, as well as light absorbers, protection layers, and membranes for product sepatation will be address. In addition in situ and in operando measurements, and fundamental understanding to enable new materials discovery will be presented.

Topics will include:

  • Biohybrid approaches for solar fuel formation
  • Electrocatalysts and photoelectrocatalysts for selective and efficient CO2 reduction
  • Photoelectrochemical integrated systems for solar fuel production (H2 and CO2 reduction)
  • Interfacial band-edge energetics and mitigation of loss mechanism
  • In situ and operando characterization of (photo)electrocatalytic systems
  • Novel materials discovery and fundamental understanding of materials property for solar fuel production
  • Novel materials architectures for confined catalysis, improved light harvesting and light management, and excited states photocatalysis
  • Cell design and operating conditions for photoelectrocatalytic CO2 reduction

Invited Speakers:

  • Harry Atwater (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Katherine Ayers (Proton OnSite, USA)
  • Shannon Boettcher (University of Oregon, USA)
  • Marcella Bonchio (University of Padova, Italy)
  • Todd Deutsch (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Alexander Eychmüller (Technical University of Dresden, Germany)
  • Giulia Galli (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Seong-Ju Hwang (Ewha Womans University, Republic of Korea)
  • Shintaro Ida (Kyusyu University, Japan)
  • Shigeru Ikeda (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Hideki Kato (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • Kendra Kuhl (Opus12, Cyclotron Road, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Nathan Lewis (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Can Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Gang Liu (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Takeshi Morikawa (Toyota Central R&D Labs, Japan)
  • Daniel Nocera (Harvard University, USA)
  • Bruce Parkinson (University of Wyoming, USA)
  • Ian Sharp (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Licheng Sun (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Kazuhiro Takanabe (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Dunwei Wang (Boston College, USA)
  • Lydia Wong (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Junko Yano (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Francesca Maria Toma
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis, Chemical Science Division,
510-495-2342, fmtoma@lbl.gov

Akihiko Kudo
Tokyo University of Science
Department of Applied Chemistry
81-3-5228-8267, a-kudo@rs.kagu.tus.ac.jp

Roel Van de Krol
Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
Institute for Solar Fuels

Lianzhou Wang
University of Queensland
School of Chemical Engineering
61-7-336-54218, l.wang@uq.edu.au