S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium NM1—Emerging Non-Graphene 2D Materials

Non-graphene two-dimensional (2D) materials with atomic scale thickness have emerged as a new frontier of material science. In particular, two-dimensional transition metal dichalcogenide (TMDC) materials and phosphorene present an attractive atomic-scale semiconductor. These materials have the potential to enable the ultimate scaling in the vertical direction for all the semiconductor devices and to enable functionalities that cannot be obtained with the existing materials. The key for successfully developing the novel atomic-scale devices is to understand the fundamental properties of the 2D materials, including the properties related with electrons, photons, and phonons. This symposium is mainly dedicated to promoting communication among the researchers working on 2D transition metal dichalcogenide and phosphorene. It will also address other important emerging non-grapene 2D materials such as carbides, nitrides, and borographene.

Topics will include:

  • Controlled Scalable synthesis of 2D materials
  • First principle modeling for 2D materials
  • Excitonic dynamics of 2D materials
  • Light-matter interactions of 2D materials
  • 2D materials-based novel optoelectronic devices
  • Electronic properties and devices of 2D materials
  • Fundamental physics of 2D materials
  • Flexible devices of 2D materials
  • Phonons and thermal conductivity of 2D materials
  • Heterostructures of dissimilar 2D materials and 2D/3D materials
  • Electron-phonon and other many-body interactions in 2D materials

Invited Speakers:

  • Alexander A. Balandin (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Rudolf Bratschitsch (Universität Münster, Germany)
  • Yang Chai (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong)
  • Ertugrul Cubukcu (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Yury Gogotsi (Drexel University, USA)
  • Rui He (University of Northern Iowa, USA)
  • Mark Hersam (Northwestern UniversIty, USA)
  • Libai Huang (Purdue University, USA)
  • Charlie A. T. Johnson (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Berend Jonker (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Xiao Kai (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Frank Koppens (ICFO, Spain)
  • Lincoln J. Lauhon (Northwestern UniversIty, USA)
  • Alberto Morpurgo (Geneve University, Switzerland)
  • Shin Mou (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Jiwoong Park (Cornell University, USA)
  • Hailin Peng (Peking University, China)
  • Eric Pop (Stanford University, USA)
  • Tianling Ren (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Peter Sutter (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA)
  • Pingheng Tan (Institute of Semiconductor, China)
  • Alexander Tartakovskii (University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
  • Chakrapani Varanasi (U.S. Army Research Laboratory - Army Research Office, USA)
  • Han Wang (University of South California, USA)
  • Jamie H. Warner (Oxford University, United Kingdom)
  • Philip Wong (Stanford University, USA)
  • Hugen Yan (Fudan University, China)
  • Xiang Zhang (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Hui Zhao (University of Kansas, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Linyou Cao
North Carolina State University
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
919-515-5407, lcao2@ncsu.edu

Bruce Claflin
Air Force Research Laboratory

Thomas Mueller
Vienna University of Technology
Institute of Photonics
43-1-58801-38739, thomas.mueller@tuwien.ac.at

Hua Zhang
Nanyang Technological University
65-67905175, HZhang@ntu.edu.sg