S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium NM6—Mechanical Behavior of Nanostructured Composites

A variety of novel forms of nanostructured composites are currently being explored to enhance mechanical properties such as strength, ductility, and fracture toughness, and achieve tailored response under extreme mechanical conditions. The current challenges in the field involve understanding and engineering the interface chemistry and atomic and defect structures to achieve the novel and enhanced functionalities.

The focus of this symposium will be on processing-structure-property relationships in nano-composites with enhanced mechanical properties and damage tolerance. Fundamental studies on mechanical properties of nano-composites including ex-situ and in-situ SEM/TEM/XRD characterization as well as theory, modeling and simulations on relevant length scales will be addressed. Nano-composites of interest will consist of metals, ceramics, amorphous materials and their derivative containing nano-carbon based materials, and other novel processing routes for advanced structural nano-composites.

Topics will include:

  • Fabrication and analysis of 3D or 4D nano-composites
  • Effects of interfaces on the mechanical properties of metal-matrix nano-composites
  • Deformation and fracture mechanisms of metal-ceramic, crystalline-amorphous composites
  • Graphene or CNT containing composites for structural applications
  • Nano-composites based on light-weight metals such as Magnesium
  • Hierarchical bio-composites and their fracture/deformation mechanisms
  • In-situ SEM/TEM analysis of the deformation behavior
  • Simulation and modeling of mechanical behavior of the nano-composites

Invited Speakers:

  • Nik Chawla (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Reinhold Dauskardt (Stanford University, USA)
  • Michael Demkowicz (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Jonah Erlebacher (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Julia Greer (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Seokwoo Jeon (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Jessica Krogstad (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Nathan Mara (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Suveen Mathaudhu (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Sangho Oh (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Gerold Schneider (TU Hamburg, Germany)
  • Jian Wang (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA)
  • Guang-Ping Zhang (Institute of Metals Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Symposium Organizers

Seung Min Han
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Graduate School of EEWS
Republic of Korea
82-42-350-1716, smhan01@kaist.ac.kr

Arief Budiman
Singapore University of Technology and Design
65-6499-4503, asbudiman@sutd.edu.sg

Amit Misra
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
734-763-2445, amitmis@umich.edu

Ruth Schwaiger
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Institute for Applied Materials and Karlsruhe Nano Micro Facility
49-721-608-24878, ruth.schwaiger@kit.edu