S17 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium NM9—High-Performance Metals and Alloys in Extreme Conditions

Technological advances in the areas of nuclear systems, marine platforms, microelectronics, and aerospace applications, amongst others, are often constrained by limits on the performance of metals and alloys in these application environments. To meet these demanding applications, the properties of existing as well as emerging high-performance metals and alloys need to be explored, ultimately leading to the development of next generation of advanced materials. This symposium will focus on the properties of structural metals and alloys in the broad context of extreme environments. This topic area will include materials for radiation environments, mechanical extremes (high stress, strain or strain rate), high/low temperature, harsh environments that lead to chemo-mechanical coupling (e.g., stress corrosion cracking and hydrogen embrittlement), as well as size extremes (high surface to volume ratios). This symposium will cover a wide range of topics including the design of novel materials as well as material fabrication, characterization and performance evaluation. In addition, studies that use theoretical and computational methods to elucidate the properties of materials within these environments are also encouraged.

Topics will include:

  • Microstructures and mechanical behavior of metals and alloys subject to the following extreme conditions
    • Large doses of radiation
    • Shock loadings
    • Severe plastic deformation
    • Extreme temperatures
    • Environments pertaining to stress corrosion cracking
    • Hydrogen embrittlement
    • Unusual physical size

Invited Speakers:

  • Irene Beyerlein (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Mingwei Chen (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • Gerhard Dehm (Max Planck Institutue for Iron Research, Germany)
  • Michael Demkowicz (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Sergei Dudarev (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Hongyou Fan (Sandia Natinal Laboratories, USA)
  • Easo P. George (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Daniel Gianola (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Josh Kacher (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Evan Ma (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Robert Maass (University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, USA)
  • Michael Mills (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • Andrew Minor (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Amit Misra (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Eugen Rabkin (Technoion, Israel)
  • David Rodney (University of Lyon, France)
  • Christopher Schuh (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Zhiwei Shan (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)
  • Jian Wang (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA)
  • Gary Was (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Angus Wilkinson (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Xiaolei Wu (Institute of Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Qian Yu (Zhejiang University, China)
  • Xinghang Zhang (Purdue University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Weizhong Han
Xi'an Jiaotong University
School of Materials Science and Engineering

Ying Chen
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
518-276-4181, cheny20@rpi.edu

Nan Li
Los Alamos National Laboratory
979-820-1281, nanli@lanl.gov

Christopher Weinberger
Drexel University
Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics