2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

Submit an Abstract
Deadline October 31, 2019, 11:59 pm

Symposium NM12—Synthesis and Control of Dirac or Topological Materials

A long sought-after goal in materials science and condensed matter physics is the control of macroscopic quantum mechanical phenomena in systems known as quantum materials i.e. materials exhibiting emergent, non-classical properties. Notable examples include unusual quasiparticles in topological insulators, Dirac and Weyl semimetals, macroscale quantized transport phenomena, superconductors beyond the BCS paradigm, and emergent effects near quantum critical points. There are, however, many challenges–in particular, identifying intrinsic features amongst the complexities of materials systems that have defects as well as many competing interactions, and developing strategies to manipulate their materials properties. This symposium will highlight recent efforts among synthesis, characterization, and theory for the discovery and characterization of new phases of quantum matter. There will be a specific focus on routes to manipulate quantum materials: the use of dimensional and symmetry control in atomic-scale heterostructures and interfaces, external control via epitaxial strain, pressure, or applied magnetic or electric fields, revealing metastable states via intense photo-excitation, and theoretical efforts to predict and understand observed behavior.

Topics will include:

  • Synthesis of thin films and bulk crystals
  • Phenomena of strongly correlated and topological materials
  • Emergent phenomena in thin film systems through heterostructure control and strain engineering
  • Pressure and field-mediated control of macroscopic material properties
  • Computation, theory, and modeling of quantum states and phenomena
  • Data analytics and machine learning for quantum materials
  • Transport phenomena and devices
  • Spectroscopy and local probes of quantum phenomena
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • James Analytis (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Luis Balicas (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, USA)
  • Arun Bansil (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Robert Cava (Princeton University, USA)
  • Andrea Cavalleri (Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Germany)
  • Hong Ding (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Claudia Felser (Max Plank Institut, Germany)
  • John Freeland (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jennifer Hoffman (Harvard University, USA)
  • David Hsieh (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Eun-Ah Kim (Cornell University, USA)
  • Lena Kourkoutis (Cornell University, USA)
  • Andrew Mackenzie (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Germany)
  • Kathryn Moler (Stanford University, USA)
  • Joel Moore (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Filip Ronning (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Kyle Shen (Cornell University, USA)
  • Susanne Stemmer (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Yoshi Tokura (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Qi-Kun Xue (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Mina Yoon (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Matthew Brahlek
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Materials Science and Technology
5613370109, brahlekm@ornl.gov

Yue Cao
Argonne National Laboratory
Materials Science
630-252-3289, yue.cao@anl.gov

Joseph Checkelsky
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
617-324-7762, checkelsky@mit.edu

Phil King
University of St. Andrews
School of Physics and Astronomy
United Kingdom
+44 (0)1334 463067, philip.king@st-andrews.ac.uk