Plenary Speakers

Click each speakers' name to read their biography.

  • Thomas H. Epps, III, University of Delaware
  • Karin M. Rabe, Rutgers University
  • Linda Nazar, University of Waterloo
  • Kang L. Wang, University of California, Los Angeles

Speaker Profiles

Thomas EppsThomas H. Epps III, University of Delaware

Thomas H. Epps is the Thomas and Kipp Gutshall Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Delaware with a joint appointment in materials science and engineering and an affiliated appointment in biomedical engineering. He is also the director of the new Center for Research in Soft Matter and Polymers (CRiSP). He joined the University of Delaware in 2006 after a stint as a National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Epps’ research interests include nanostructured assemblies for targeted drug delivery and gene therapy, polymeric materials for bio-separation and ion-conduction membranes, nanostructured soft materials from biobased feedstocks, and polymer films for nanotemplating.  Epps has received many honors and awards including: the John H. Dillon Medal from the American Physical Society (APS) (2016); the Owens-Corning Early Career Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) (2015); the Kavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences (2014); the Sigma Xi Young Investigator Award (2014); the Martin Luther King, Jr. Visiting Professorship at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2012); the Thomas and Kipp Gutshall Professorship at the University of Delaware (2012); the University of Delaware Alison Society, Gerard J. Mangone Young Scholars Award (2011); the DuPont Young Professor Grant Award (2010); the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) (2009); the Air Force Young Investigator Award (2008); the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) Lloyd N. Ferguson Young Scientist Award (2007), and the National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award (2007), among others.  Epps is also active in the American Chemical Society (ACS Board of Directors Development Advisory Board), AIChE, APS (Polymers Division), and Sigma Xi.  He was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2017 and the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) in 2018.  He is a member of the Department of Energy Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) and an associate editor for Science Advances.


Kang L WangKang Lung Wang, University of California, Los Angeles

Kang L. Wang is currently Distinguished Professor and the Raytheon Chair Professor in Physical Science and Electronics at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).  He is affiliated with the departments of electrical and computer engineering (ECE), materials science and engineering (MSE) and physics/astronomy.  Wang received his MS and PhD degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and his BS degree from National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan.  He is a Guggenheim Fellow, Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and IEEE, and a Laureate of Industrial Technology Research Institute of Taiwan.  He is also an Academician of Academia Sinica.  His awards include the IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal, the IEEE J.J. Ebers Award for electron devices, SRC Technical Excellence Award, the Pan Wen-Yuan Award, Chinese American History Makers Lifetime Achievement Award, and others.  He has served as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology (TNANO), editor for Artech House, and editor for J of Spins and for Science Advances, as well as other publications. His research areas include topological insulators—materials and physics; quantum information and computing; spintronics and nonvolatile electronics, and nanoscale physics and materials; molecular beam epitaxy.