About MRS

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Board of Directors     

The MRS Board of Directors is composed of elected officers and directors. Directors are elected for three-year terms with one third of the board changing each year. The president-elect serves three years (as president-elect, president and past president); the secretary is elected for a three-year term; and the treasurer is appointed yearly by the Board. Members of the Board may serve on the Board’s committees (Executive, Finance and Audit, Governance, Nominating), Board task forces or other ad hoc efforts commissioned by the Board.


Gopal Rao, Chief Editor for Technical Content for MRS and Editor of MRS Bulletin, interviews Sabrina Sartori, the 2023 President of the Materials Research Society, about the 50th anniversary of MRS. Sartori talks about the role of materials in the Society and the importance of diversity, equity and inclusion to make important advances.

2023 MRS Officers

Expiration of Board term follows name

Sabrina Sartori

Sabrina Sartori (24)
University of Oslo 

Carolyn Duran

Immediate Past President
Carolyn R. Duran (23)
Apple Inc.

Carolyn Duran

Vice President
Takeo Someya (25)

The University of Tokyo

Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines

Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines (25)
Johns Hopkins University
Applied Physics Lab

Shenda Baker

Shenda Baker (25)
Synedgen Inc.

Todd Osman

Executive Director
Todd M. Osman

Materials Research Society


Ilke Arslan

Ilke Arslan (23)
Argonne National Laboratory

Aditi Risbud Bartl

Aditi Risbud Bartl (24)
Stanford University

Leonard Brillson

Christine Caragianis Broadbridge (25)
Southern Connecticut State University

Kyong-Shin Choi

Nerissa Draeger

Claudia Felser

Kyoung-Shin Choi (23)
University of WisconsinMadison

Nerissa Draeger (24)
Lam Research Corporation

Claudia Felser (23)
Max Planck Institute

Chinedum Osuji

Cheolmin Park

Kristen Brosnan

Chinedum O. Osuji (24)
University of Pennsylvania

Cheolmin Park (24)
Yonsei University

Alberto Salleo (25)
Stanford University

Coray Colina

Catherine Dubourdieu

Haiyan Wang (25)
Purdue University

William S. Wong (25)
University of Waterloo