Careers & Advancement

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


2024 MRS Fellows


Harald Ade

Harald Ade, North Carolina State University

For seminal contributions leading to the understanding of the morphology of organic thin films and its implications on organic electronic device performance



Amit Bandyopadhyay

Amit Bandyopadhyay, Washington State University

For pioneering work in metal additive manufacturing for biomedical and other applications, and for instruction and mentoring of an inclusive research group in materials science and advanced manufacturing


Donald Brenner

Donald Brenner, North Carolina State University 

For pioneering contributions to materials modeling, and for broader contributions to the materials community that include studies that helped shape major research directions in the U.S.


Stefano Curtarolo

Stefano Curtarolo, Duke University

For outstanding contributions to thermodynamics of disordered ceramics and alloys, material genome initiatives, and for creating first-class density functional theory database and software leading to effective material discovery


Laura M. Herz

Laura M. Herz, University of Oxford

For pioneering contributions to the science of light-harvesting materials, including metal-halide perovskites, pi-conjugated molecules, biomimetic systems, and nanostructured semiconductors
Andrea M. Hodge

Andrea M. Hodge, University of Southern California

For pioneering contributions to understanding the synthesis and mechanical response of novel nanofoams and nano-twinned materials, and for leadership and commitment to materials  education and the materials community


Cherie R. Kagan

Cherie R. Kagan, University of Pennsylvania

For pioneering contributions to the physics and chemistry of emerging materials constructed from colloidal nanocrystals and organic-inorganic hybrid perovskites and to their integration in electronic, optical, and optoelectronic devices

Lane Martin

Lane Martin,  Rice University 

For seminal contributions to the science of ferroelectric and multiferroic thin film materials


Sanjay Mathur

Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne

For outstanding and innovative contributions in the field of chemical processing of advanced materials for electrochemical and biomedical applications
Amanda K. Petford-Long,

Amanda K. Petford-Long, Argonne National Laboratory

For work developing quantitative imaging and analysis techniques for nanoscale functional heterostructures, in particular those with magnetic properties, and leadership in teaching, mentoring and fostering diversity in materials science



Gregory Rohrer

Gregory Rohrer, Carnegie Mellon University

For developing pioneering experimental methods and a statistical methodology to quantify and correlate interface crystallography, energy and properties in crystalline materials

Federico Rosei

Federico Rosei, Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)

For leadership in nanomaterials synthesis and characterization, in particular multifunctional materials and their integration in optoelectronic devices, and for sustained international efforts in service, mentoring and outreach


Subhash L. Shinde

Subhash L. Shinde, University of Notre Dame

For cutting-edge materials science and engineering research contributions through leadership in advancing microelectronics packaging, 3D microsystems integration, concentrating solar technologies and dedicated, impactful MRS service

Ichiro Takeuchi

Ichiro Takeuchi, University of Maryland

For leadership in development of combinatorial and high-throughput methodology and incorporation of machine learning for exploration and discovery of new functional materials; and for invention and development of elastocaloric cooling


Dmitri V. Talapin

Dmitri V. Talapin, University of Chicago 

For innovation in synthesis of nanomaterials; contributions to the field of nanoparticle self-assembly; and pioneering research in nanocrystal devices