About MRS

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature



MRS members are highly encouraged to participate in the election of MRS officers and board members. Elections are typically held in the last quarter of each calendar year, and officers and board members begin their terms on January 1 of the following year. 

The MRS Board of Directors is the highest governing body of the Materials Research Society, responsible for establishing policy, monitoring progress of the society toward its long-term goals and setting the strategic directions for the major activities of the society, including its meetings, publications, interactions with government agencies and cooperative efforts with other professional societies throughout the world.

The Board is composed of four elected officers (president, immediate past president, vice president and secretary), and between 12 to 21 Directors, established by Board resolution. A fifth officer (treasurer) is appointed by the Board for an initial one-year term, and may serve two additional years with Board approval.

2021 Election

This year, members were asked to elect a Vice President and four Directors, and to approve a proposed change to Article III of the MRS Bylaws. These changes were approved, and are available here »

Congratulations to our newly elected Vice President and Board Members!



2022 Vice President

Sabrina Sartori

Sabrina Sartori
University of Oslo

Newly Elected Members of the Board of Directors

Aditi Risbud Bartl

Aditi Risbud Bartl
University of California, Davis

Nerissa Draeger

Nerissa Draeger
Lam Research Corporation

Chinedum Osuji

Chinedum O. Osuji
University of Pennsylvania

Cheolmin Park

Cheolmin Park
Yonsei University