About MRS

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


MRS in the News

MRS in the News is a collection of media coverage about MRS meetings, publications, membership, events and more. Read on to learn more about the exciting things happening around MRS. For MRS press releases, visit the MRS Press Room. For MRS in the News articles from the past year, please visit the archive page linked in the menu on the left.

Rigoberto Castillo Advincula on the 2023 Nobel Prize in Chemistry laureates for their groundbreaking work on Quantum Dots!

Newswise | October 20, 2023

The field of quantum dots and nanoparticles bridges chemistry and physics like never before with colloidal phenomena and ease of materials synthesis. Bawendi, Brus, and Ekimov enabled this seminal contribution to be widespread to many researchers and applications in nanomedicine and display technologies.

3 scientists win Nobel in chemistry for quantum dots research used in electronics, medical imaging

Associated Press| October 4, 2023

Three scientists won the Nobel Prize in chemistry Wednesday for their work on quantum dots — tiny particles just a few nanometers in diameter that can release very bright colored light and whose applications in everyday life include electronics and medical imaging.

Chris Schuh named dean of Northwestern University McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science

MIT News | August 22, 2023

In 21 years at MIT's Department of Materials Science and Engineering — nine of them as department head — Chris Schuh earned a reputation as a world-class scientist, an effective administrator, a repeat entrepreneur, and a generous and collaborative colleague.

2023 MRS Fall Meeting Chair Alexandra Boltasseva earns distinguished professor title at Purdue University

Purdue University | August 4, 2023

Alexandra (Sasha) Boltasseva, a 2023 MRS Fall Meeting Chair, was named the Ron and Dotty  Garvin Tonjes Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering  by the Purdue University Board of Trustees.

Advincula Receives Netzsch NATAS Fellows Award

Oak Ridge National Laboratory | June 2, 2023

Rigoberto Advincula, a renowned scientist at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory and professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Tennessee, has won the Netzsch North American Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) Fellows Award for 2023.

ORNL’s Lee named Materials Research Society Fellow

Oak Ridge National Laboratory | March 31, 2023

Ho Nyung Lee, a condensed matter physicist at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, has been elected a Fellow of the Materials Research Society.

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Researchers Featured in MRS Bulletin Special Issue

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory | March 14, 2023

Developing materials that can withstand extreme environments, like space or nuclear reactors, remains a challenge for materials science. Work from researchers at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) was featured in a new special issue of MRS Bulletin. The issue was co-edited by Mitra Taheri, Chief Materials Scientist for the Physical and Computational Sciences Directorate. Taheri and Daniel Schreiber, a PNNL materials scientist, also participated in a webinar related to the issue in December.

Nanomaterials Scientist Yu Huang Appointed Traugott and Dorothea Frederking Endowed Chair

UCLA Samueli Newsroom| March 6, 2023

The UCLA Samueli School of Engineering has named Yu Huang, a professor and chair of the Materials Science and Engineering Department and an MRS Fellow, as the inaugural holder of the Traugott and Dorothea Frederking Endowed Chair, effective retroactively July 1, 2022. Huang was selected for her work in enhancing the mechanistic understanding of nanoscale phenomena to address green energy applications in catalysis, fuel cells and materials synthesis.

National Academy of Engineering Elects 106 Members and 18 International Members

National Academy of Engineering | February 7, 2023

Seven Materials Research Society Members are part of the NAE Class of 2023—Markus Buehler, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Peter Green, National Renewable Energy Laboratory; Carlos Levi, University of California, Santa Barbara; Thuc-Quyen Nguyen, University of California, Santa Barbara; Christopher Ober, Cornell University; David Parrillo, Dow Chemical Co.; and Ji-Cheng Zhao, University of Maryland. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

Naomi Halas named University Professor

Rice University Office of Public Affairs| January 23, 2023

Rice University has promoted Naomi Halas to University Professor, the institution’s highest academic rank. She becomes only the 10th person and second woman to earn the title in Rice’s 111-year history. An engineer, chemist, physicist and pioneer in the field of nanophotonics, Halas is the only member of Rice’s faculty elected to both the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering for research done entirely at Rice.

Advincula Named Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry

Tickle College of Engineering| January 9, 2023

Accolades are nothing new for UT-Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) Governor’s Chair Professor of Advanced and Nanostructured Materials Rigoberto AdvinculaA well-recognized figure in the world of polymers, nanomaterials, and materials science, Advincula has been selected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry through their “Leaders in the Field’ program, which identifies individuals for their outstanding contributions to chemistry.



MRS in the News Archives