Careers & Advancement

Materials Theory Award

 Materials Research Society Foundation Logo


The Materials Theory Award recognizes exceptional advances made by materials theory to the fundamental understanding of the structure and behavior of materials. This award is intended to honor both those who have pioneered the development of a new theoretical approach and those who have used existing approaches to provide significant new insight into materials behavior.

MRS acknowledges the generosity of Dr. Gwo-Ching Wang and Dr. Toh-Ming Lu in endowing the Materials Theory Award.

The nomination site is open March 1 – April 1.

The Award

The annual award consists of a $5,000 cash prize, a presentation trophy and a certificate. Meeting registration fee, transportation and hotel expenses to attend the MRS meeting at which the award is presented will be reimbursed.

Nomination Information

Nominations for the Materials Theory Award will be accepted through April 1. Rules and eligibility, nomination package requirements and more are available here.


Materials Theory Award Recipients

  • Lu Sham, University of California, San Diego (2019)
  • Giulia Galli, The University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory (2018)
  • Glenn H. Fredrickson, University of California, Santa Barbara (2017)
  • Gerbrand Ceder, University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2016)
  • Steven G. Louie, University of California, Berkeley (2015)
  • Long-Qing Chen, The Pennsylvania State University (2014)
  • David J. Srolovitz, University of Pennsylvania (2013)
  • John P. Perdew, Tulane University (2012)
  • Alex Zunger, University of Colorado, Boulder (2011)