About MRS

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


MRS Press Release

Materials Research Society Announces 2016 Fellows

March 22, 2016
Press & Public Relations Contact:

Ryan Rebholz
Communications Manager
Materials Research Society

WARRENDALE, PA—The Materials Research Society (MRS) will recognize the following 14 members (in alpha order) as MRS Fellows at the 2016 MRS Spring Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona. The honor of MRS Fellow is bestowed upon outstanding members whose sustained and distinguished contributions to the advancement of materials research are internationally recognized.



Pulickel Ajayan
Rice University

"For sustained and creative work in the development and applications of nanostructured and nanoengineered materials, in particular carbon nanotubes, graphene and other two-dimensional materials."

Timothy Bunning
Air Force Research Laboratory

"For the discovery and development of responsive soft matter electro-optical and photosensitive molecular architectures based on polymer and/or liquid crystalline materials."

Yi Cui
Stanford University

"For outstanding contributions to nanoscale materials design for energy conversion, storage and efficiency, including creative research on battery materials, solar cell photon management, transparent electrodes and topological insulators."

Alexander Efros
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

"For pioneering and fundamental contributions to the theory of low dimensional semiconductor structures that includes establishing the basic theoretical concepts commonly used today for describing their electronic and optical properties."

Hongyou Fan
Sandia National Laboratories

"For pioneering contributions to the development of novel synthesis methods and self-assembly processes to fabricate multifunctional nanomaterials for nanoelectronic and nanophotonic applications and service to the materials community."

Andrea Carlo Ferrari
University of Cambridge

"For seminal research on Raman spectroscopy of carbon materials and leadership role in the development of graphene and other two-dimensional materials in Europe and worldwide."

Joseph Hupp
Northwestern University

"For enabling discoveries in the syntheses of functional porous materials."

Thomas Kuech
University of Wisconsin–Madison

"For development of the chemical and physical understanding enabling the chemical vapor deposition of compound semiconductors and their use in the formation of optical and electronic devices."

Arumugam Manthiram
The University of Texas at Austin

"For pioneering contributions to the fundamental understanding and development of materials for energy conversion and storage, novel chemical syntheses, student education and training and leadership."

Amit Misra
University of Michigan

"For seminal and sustained contributions to nanomechanics and deformation mechanisms of nanocomposites and leadership to the Materials Research Society and the materials community."

Peter Nordlander
Rice University

"For the development of microscopic theories for plasmonic materials including plasmon hybridization theory and quantum plasmonics that have resulted in a paradigm shift in the understanding, implementation and teaching of nanoscale plasmonics."

Teri Odom
Northwestern University

"For pioneering contributions to scalable nanofabrication tools and the plasmonic meta-materials with extraordinary optical properties that have resulted from them."

Ian Robertson
University of Wisconsin–Madison

"For pioneering contributions in understanding the fundamental mechanisms and processes associated with the degradation of materials exposed to extreme conditions, for leadership and service to the materials community."

Linda Schadler
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

"For seminal research in the field of polymer nanocomposites and for leadership in materials education."

By representing excellence in science and engineering, and dedication to the advancement of materials research, MRS Fellows exemplify the highest ideals of accomplishment and service embodied in the MRS Mission. Congratulations to them all.

About the Materials Research Society

MRS is an organization of over 12,000 materials researchers from academia, industry and government worldwide, and a recognized leader in promoting the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research and technology to improve the quality of life. MRS members are students and professionals hailing from physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics and engineering—the full spectrum of materials research. Headquartered in Warrendale, Pennsylvania (USA), MRS membership now spans 90 countries, with approximately 45 percent of members residing outside the United States.

MRS serves and engages members across generations to advance their careers and promote materials research and innovation. The Society produces high-quality meetings and publications, assuring that members of all career stages can present and publish their most important and timely work to an international and interdisciplinary audience. MRS continues to expand its professional development portfolio, as well as promote diversity and inclusion in the scientific workforce, with career services for researchers worldwide. The Society advocates for the importance of scientific research and innovation to policymakers and the community. And the MRS Awards program honors those whose work has already had a major impact in the field, as well as those whose work shows great promise for future leadership.

For more information about the Materials Research Society visit mrs.org and follow @Materials_MRS.