About MRS

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


MRS Press Release

Chang-Beom Eom awarded 2022 MRS David Turnbull Lectureship

November 17, 2022
Press & Public Relations Contact:

Ryan Rebholz
Communications Manager
Materials Research Society

WARRENDALE, PA—The Materials Research Society (MRS) announced that Chang-Beom Eom, University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been honored with the 2022 David Turnbull Lectureship. Eom, the Raymond R. Holton Chair Professor and Theodore H. Geballe Professor at Wisconsin-Madison, is being honored for pioneering research and insightful lectures on epitaxy of oxide materials and its impact on applications in electronics.

Eom will accept the honor on Thursday, December 1 during the 2022 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit in Boston, Massachusetts, and will present his lecture, Complex Oxide Heterostructures: How did we get here and where are we going?

The David Turnbull Lectureship recognizes the career contributions of a scientist towards fundamental understanding of the science of materials through experimental and/or theoretical research. In the spirit of the life and work of David Turnbull, writing and lecturing are factors in the selection process.

Eom earned his PhD in materials science and engineering from Stanford University in 1991. He completed his postdoctoral research at AT&T Bell Laboratories and later joined the faculty at Duke University as an associate professor. In 2000, he joined the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison forming the Oxide Laboratory. His research focuses on epitaxial thin film heterostructures of complex oxides, including ferroelectrics, piezoelectrics, multiferroics, superconductors, interfacial materials, and complex material spintronic heterostructures, with an emphasis on fundamental solid state phenomena and novel device applications.

Among various recognitions, Eom has received the National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, the David & Lucile Packard Fellowship and the Ho-Am Prize in Engineering. He is currently a Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellow and a Moore Foundation Synthesis Investigator. He is a fellow of the Materials Research Society, American Physical Society, and American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has served on the MRS Board of Directors and is an Associate Editor of APL Materials.

Photo of Eom available upon request by contacting Ryan Rebholz.

About the Materials Research Society

MRS is an organization of over 13,000 materials researchers from academia, industry and government worldwide, and a recognized leader in promoting the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research and technology to improve the quality of life. MRS members are students and professionals hailing from physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics and engineering—the full spectrum of materials research. Headquartered in Warrendale, Pennsylvania (USA), MRS membership now spans 90 countries, with approximately 45 percent of members residing outside the United States.

MRS serves and engages members across generations to advance their careers and promote materials research and innovation. The Society produces high-quality meetings and publications, assuring that members of all career stages can present and publish their most important and timely work to an international and interdisciplinary audience. MRS continues to expand its professional development portfolio, as well as promote diversity and inclusion in the scientific workforce, with career services for researchers worldwide. The Society advocates for the importance of scientific research and innovation to policymakers and the community. And the MRS Awards program honors those whose work has already had a major impact in the field, as well as those whose work shows great promise for future leadership.

For more information about the Materials Research Society visit mrs.org and follow @Materials_MRS.