2019 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium EN02-Materials for High-Energy and Safe Electrochemical Energy Storage

This symposium will cover recent advances in the development of functional materials that deliver high energy and safe electrochemical energy storage for broad applications, such as portable electronics, electric vehicles and smart grids.

Electrochemical energy storage devices (e.g., batteries, electrochemical capacitors) remain ubiquitous in modern life, from portable electronics to the emerging all electric vehicle market. With the increase in energy and power densities of these devices, safety and stability issues, due to the higher electrochemical activity of electrode/electrolyte materials and the larger scale of these storage systems, become increasingly important. In the past few years, significant efforts have been made in developing new functional materials and tuned crystal structures that can provide significantly higher energy and power densities while also addressing the pressing challenge of safety concerns. These include novel electrode and electrolyte materials, separators, current collectors and functional additives. This symposium will provide a forum for scientists and engineers to communicate their recent progress and exchange ideas on the development of functional materials for high energy and safe electrochemical energy storage. The most recent advances across electrochemical systems will be covered, including both traditional lithium-ion chemistry and beyond lithium-ion chemistries (e.g., lithium-sulfur, lithium-metal, sodium-ion, solid-state batteries), as well as electrolyte systems ranging from liquid through to solid. Pathways for pushing higher energy densities for real-world application will be of interest. Submissions that report on materials synthesis and design, advanced characterization techniques for mechanistic studies, and computational insights from modeling that aim for high energy and safe energy storage are encouraged.

Topics will include:

  • Electrode materials design, synthesis and modification for high energy and safe Li-ion and Na-ion batteries
  • Materials and structures for stable Li-metal and Na-metal batteries (sulfur and O2)
  • Advanced organic, ionic liquid and mixed electrolytes
  • Polymer, ceramic and composite solid-state electrolytes for solid-state batteries
  • Novel current collectors, separators, functional additives for improved battery safety
  • Advanced characterization and diagnostic of electrochemical degradation processes
  • Modeling and simulation of high energy electrodes and electrolytes
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • John Cook (Xerion Advanced Battery Corp., USA)
  • Masashi Okubo (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Jeff Sakamoto (University of Michigan–Ann Arbor, USA)
  • Ratnakumar Bugga (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA)
  • Yue Qi (Michigan State University, USA)
  • Yi Cui (Stanford University, USA)
  • Mei Cai (General Motors, USA)
  • Kisuk Kang (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Donghai Wang (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Kang Xu (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • William Chueh (Stanford University, USA)
  • Jennifer Rupp (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Chongmin Wang (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Peter Bruce (Oxford University, United Kingdom)
  • Hong Li (Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
  • Zheng Chen (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Nuria Garcia-Araez (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Hongmei Luo (New Mexico State University, USA)
  • David Scanlon (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • Kimberley See (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Venkat Srinivasan (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Liyuan Sun (A123 Systems, USA)
  • Xueliang Sun (Western University Canada, Canada)
  • Jie Xiao (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Wolfgang Zeier (University of Giessen, Germany)

Symposium Organizers

Serena Corr
University of Sheffield
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
United Kingdom

Feng Wang
Argonne National Laboratory

Haobin Wu
Zhejiang University

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature