2019 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium EN05-Chemomechanical and Interfacial Challenges in Energy Storage and Conversion—Batteries and Fuel Cells

Interfacial chemistry and mechanics interplay at the nanometric scale and collectively govern the functionalities of redox active materials. Understanding the relationship between the two can inform the design of materials electrochemistry with optimal chemomechanical properties for long-life and reliable energy devices. Electrochemical reactions involve constant mass and charge transport across the electrode and electrolyte interfaces. These transport processes can introduce formation of interfacial species, defects and phase transformation in the vicinity of the interface. Extensive interfacial reactions can ultimately lead to the chemical and structural transformation at the length scale beyond the interface and through the bulk of participating materials. The reversibility of these processes essentially governs the performance metrics (e.g., efficiency, life, energy, power) of these devices. In the last few years, we have witnessed a huge wave of fundamental studies in unraveling the interfacial materials electrochemistry and its relationship with the chemomechanical properties. The rapid advancement of in situ characterization tools has enriched the community’s understanding of chemomechanical and interfacial challenges, and a number of successful characterization-driven discoveries have been reported in this domain. Specifically, synchrotron X-ray techniques stand out as one of the most effective methods that allows for nearly nondestructive probing of materials characteristics such as electronic and geometric structures with various depth sensitivities through spectroscopy, scattering, and imaging capabilities. These characterization tools are complemented by the state of the art electron and neutron spectroscopy and microscopy. The symposium will highlight current progress of advanced experimental and computational methodologies in understanding and improving the chemomechanical and interfacial properties of electrochemical materials for energy storage and conversion. It is intended to bring experts from materials science, chemistry, engineering and mechanics interested in energy conversion, and storage to review current state of art and formulate the outstanding research needs and grand challenges in the chemomechanical and interfacial properties in advanced electrochemical energy materials.

Topics will include:

  • Interfacial chemistry of lithium, sodium, potassium and magnesium batteries
  • Electrochemistry and mechanics of batteries, fuel cell, and solid-state batteries
  • Advanced characterization techniques including but not limited to synchrotron, electron and neutron methods
  • Multi-scale modeling, simulation, and theory of advanced energy materials mechanics and interfaces
  • Mechanics-guided material design and optimization
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Jagjit Nanda (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Edwin Garcia (Purdue University, USA)
  • Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Yue Qi (Michigan State University, USA)
  • Ping Liu (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • William Chueh (Stanford University, USA)
  • Liqiang Mai (Wuhan University of Technology, China)
  • Bilge Yildiz (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Yifei Mo (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Yongsheng Hu (Institute of Physics, China)
  • Plamen Atanassov (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Veronica Augustyn (North Carolina State University, USA)
  • Corsin Battaglia (Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Switzerland)
  • Hailong Chen (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Jakub Drnec (European Synchrotron Research Facility, France)
  • Joaquin Joaquin Rodriguez-Lopez (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Kurt Johanns (KLA-Tencor, USA)
  • Marc Kamlah (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Byoung-Woo Kang (Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Robert Kee (Colorado School of Mines, USA)
  • Hansu Kim (Hanyang University, Republic of Korea)
  • Jiangyu Li (University of Washington, USA)
  • Yijin Liu (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
  • Corey Love (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Feng Pan (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Yoonwoo Shin (Samsung Research America, USA)
  • Taeseup Song (Hanyang University, Republic of Korea)
  • Vojislav Stamenkovic (Argonne National Lab, USA)
  • Johanna Weker (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Iryna Zenyuk
University of California Irvine

Feng Lin
Virginia Tech

Yoon Seok Jung
Yonsei University
Republic of Korea

Kejie Zhao
Purdue University

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature