2019 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium MT07-In Situ/Operando Studies of Dynamic Processes in Ferroelectric, Magnetic and Multiferroic Materials

There has been significant interest in the dynamic processes in the ferroelectric and ferromagnetic materials. The possibility to manipulate the electric and magnetic properties of these materials opens a plethora of new applications. The nature of these materials requires operando microscopy techniques to characterize their physical properties while simultaneously measuring their functional performance. Additionally, the dynamic behavior of such entities as domain walls, means that one can use the microscopic techniques to probe and control their mobility and position.

This symposium will focus on utilizing various in-situ electron and local probe microscopy techniques across a large scale range, from the mesoscopic device to the atomic level. The goal of this symposium is to bring together researchers from various experimental fields utilizing in situ/operando methods to understand the fundamental physics governing the dynamic materials.

Topics will include:

  • In-situ/operando characterization of dynamic processes via electron and local probe microscopy
  • Time-resolved and ultrafast measurements
  • Advanced structural and functional imaging by microscopy techniques
  • Theoretical simulation and modeling of mechanically, electrically and magnetically driven processes
  • Atomic scale characterization of thin films and interfaces
  • Scaling behavior and emerging phenomena in ferroic materials
  • Imaging, probing and control of phase and domain boundaries

Invited Speakers:

  • Xiaoqing Pan (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Mitra Taheri (Drexel University, USA)
  • Marin Alexe (University of Warwick, United Kingdom)
  • Trevor Almeida (University of Glasgow, United Kingdom)
  • Ursel Bangert (University of Limerick, Ireland)
  • Laura Bocher (Université Paris-Sud, Laboratoire de Physique des Solides, France)
  • Martial Duchamp (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Rafal Dunin-Borkowski (The Ernst Ruska-Centre (ER-C) for Microscopy and Spectroscopy with Electrons, Germany)
  • Dennis Meier (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
  • Amanda Petford-Long (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Alexei Gruverman
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Michele Conroy
Imperial College London
United Kingdom

Marty Gregg
Queen's University Belfast
School of Mathematics and Physics
United Kingdom

Sang Ho Oh
Sungkyunkwan University
Department of Energy Science
Republic of Korea

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature