2022 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium EQ01-Progress in Thermoelectrics—From Traditional to Novel Materials

This symposium will cover current and forefront research from thermoelectric transport physics to device fabrication and applications. One focus area will be advancing in materials. Categories in this focus area will cover materials design, synthesis, and characterization of inorganic, organic, and composite materials. Emphasis will be placed on new strategies to guide materials design. This symposium will welcome advances in applications of thermoelectric materials, including but not limited to new manufacturing techniques and design principles. As a way of breaking with convention in the field of thermoelectrics, this symposium will also focus on novel thermoelectric phenomena. This focus area will emphasize recent interest in coupling magnetism with thermoelectric transport. Categories in this focus area will include interfacial effects such as those required for the spin-injection, thermoelectric effects in magnetic materials, and magneto-thermoelectric effects such as the Nernst effect. The emerging interest in thermoelectric transport in topological materials will be another focus area. Discussions of new synthesis and measurement techniques and novel applications allowed by unconventional thermoelectric materials will be welcomed. These categories will bridge the gap between the field of thermoelectric materials and other fields of electronic materials such as spintronics and quantum materials, coupling exotic and exciting electronic and thermal transport.

Topics will include:

  • Progress in inorganic materials
  • Computationally-guided design and discovery
  • Unconventional materials, synthesis, and characterization
  • Magneto-thermoelectric and topological thermoelectric effects
  • Device design and manufacturing

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Jain Abnubhav (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Je-Hyeong Bahk (University of Cincinnati, USA)
  • Doug Crane (DTP Thermoelectrics, USA)
  • Chenguang Fu (Zhejiang University, China)
  • Joseph P. Heremans (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • Saniya LeBlanc (George Washington University, USA)
  • Kaustuv Manna (Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India)
  • Gabi Schierning (Bielefeld University, Germany)
  • Ali Shakouri (Purdue University, USA)
  • G. Jeffrey Snyder (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Jae Sung Son (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Dmitri Talapin (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • Eric Toberer (Colorado School of Mines, USA)
  • Kenichi Uchida (National Institute for Materials Science, Japan)
  • Mona Zebarjadi (University of Virginia, USA)
  • Alex Zevalkink (Michigan State University, USA)
  • Xiaoyuan Zhou (Chongqing University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Sepideh Akhbarifar
The Catholic University of America
Department of Physics

Guangzhao Qin
Hunan University
State Key Laboratory of Advanced Design and Manufacturing for Vehicle Body, College of Mechanical and Vehicle Engineering

Heng Wang
Illinois Institute of Technology
Mechanical, Materials and Aerospace Engineering

Sarah J. Watzman
University of Cincinnati
Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support