Symposium EL02-Emerging Ultrafast Optical and Structural Probes in Materials Science

Time-resolved spectroscopies provide material scientists with high temporal resolution to characterize physical processes in a variety of complex and emerging materials, ranging from semiconductors and dielectrics to metals and superconductors. Recent advances in pulsed laser technologies have enabled ultrafast probes to explore a wide energy range from deep ultraviolet to the mid-infrared and terahertz, resulting in new perspectives of material characteristics that encompass optical, electronic, magnetic, thermal, and structural properties. The fundamental knowledge is further expanded to high spatial resolution via innovative microscopies and tip-based techniques coupled with ultrafast lasers. These emerging experimental methods are fueling many technologically and fundamentally relevant discoveries in various systems, including those which constitute biological matter, quantum materials, and materials for energy conversion and storage. Moreover, recent developments in pulsed X-ray and electron sources have further enabled material scientists to track the dynamic structural evolution under ultrafast photoexcitation, to reveal and access metastable material phases with unconventional structure-property relationships. This symposium brings together a unique and diverse set of ultrafast spectroscopies (e.g., optical, terahertz, X-ray, electron beam, quantum metrology) and material scientists to converge established and emerging techniques and to explore novel approaches to solve grand material science problems in quantum and energy sciences.

Topics will include:

  • Ultrafast photo-excited charge carrier dynamics and mobility of materials examined by time-resolved, spatiotemporal optical probes (i.e., transient microscopy and imaging, tip-based transient infrared and terahertz spectroscopy) applied to solar energy, optoelectronic and quantum materials
  • Energy and charge transfer processes and many-body physics in materials (nanocrystals, organic semiconductors, 2D materials, heterostructures, halide perovskites, epitaxial semiconductors) and at material interfaces probed by multi-dimensional and nonlinear optical spectroscopies
  • Dynamics of photo-induced behaviors and phase transformations probed by time-resolved optical, X-ray absorption/diffraction and electron diffraction techniques applied to energy and quantum materials
  • Defect physics, electron-phonon interactions and hot carrier effects in light-absorbing, light-emitting, plasmonic, and photonic materials probed by transient absorption and time-resolved photoluminescence spectroscopies
  • Charge transfer and collection in heterostructures of mixed-dimensional nanomaterials and heterostructures
  • Combination of time-resolved optical and electrical probes (e.g., spatiotemporal conductivity mapping)
  • Understanding charge carrier transport, charge transfer and charge collection in emerging materials (e.g. electrically conductive metal-organic or covalent organic frameworks, MXenes, two-dimensional heterostructures, mixed-dimensional nanomaterials, nanowires) with contact-free time-domain optical spectroscopy (terahertz, mid-infrared)
  • Ultrafast opto-electronic probes applied to functional devices or materials under perturbations (magnetic, electrical or pressure)
  • Quantum-enhanced nonlinear spectroscopy
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Andrea Cavalleri (Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Germany)
  • Alexey Chernikov (University of Regensburg, Germany)
  • David Flannigan (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Renee Frontiera (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Naomi Ginsberg (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Laura Herz (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Libai Huang (Purdue University, USA)
  • Rupert Huber (University of Regensburg, Germany)
  • Henrik Lemke (Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland)
  • Aaron Lindenberg (Stanford University, USA)
  • Rebecca Milot (University of Warwick, United Kingdom)
  • Omar Mohammed (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Keith Nelson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Akshay Rao (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Markus Raschke (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)
  • Carlos Silva (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Brad Siwick (McGill University, Canada)
  • Julia Stahler (Humboldt-Universtät zu Berlin, Germany)
  • William Tisdale (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Xiaoyi Zhang (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Shuyun Zhou (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Xiaoyang Zhu (Columbia University, USA)
  • Jier Zhuang (Marquette University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Peijun Guo
Yale University
Chemical and Environmental Engineering
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Burak Guzelturk
Argonne National Laboratory
Advanced Photon Source
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Hannah Joyce
University of Cambridge
Department of Engineering
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Ajay Srimath Kandada
Wake Forest University, USA
Department of Physics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support