Symposium EL06-Metamaterials Innovation in Photonics, Acoustics, Fluidics and Thermal Sciences

Metamaterials, composed of artificially designed “meta-atoms”, have demonstrated great potential to tailor wave phenomena in manners unforeseen by nature. This symposium aims to overview and bridge cutting-edge advances in metamaterials across the disciplines of photonics, acoustics, fluidics and the thermal sciences. Emergent advances and challenges of next-generation metamaterials lie at the boundary between disciplines. This symposium aims to foster an interdisciplinary dialogue to ignite new avenues of metamaterials innovation.
Recent innovative progress in nanophotonics, photoacoustics, optofluidics and near-field thermal radiation will be presented, with a focus on novel material properties and design, tailored wave-matter interactions and device platforms for societally relevant applications. The symposium covers fundamental materials science, promising applications, and novel fabrication techniques. The realization of metamaterials which fully leverage wave-matter interactions requires an in-depth understanding of materials physics which ranges across disciplines promising improved performance, miniaturization, tunability and lower cost. Multiphysics metamaterials promise breakthrough solutions which can be made widely available in industries ranging from healthcare to energy.

Topics will include:

  • Multiphysics of multidimensional optical metamaterials
  • Optofluidic metamaterial devices and sensors
  • Mechanical and photoacoustic metamaterials
  • Metamaterials for medical diagnostics
  • Emerging mechanisms for dynamically switchable and reconfigurable metamaterials
  • Design approaches for complex multifunctional metamaterials
  • Metamaterials and structures for radiative heat management
  • Energy harvesting and sustainability
  • Metamaterials for photo(electro)chemistry
  • Quantum metamaterials

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Alessandro Alabastri (Rice University, USA)
  • Hatice Altug (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Abdul Azad (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Nicholas Boechler (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Mark Brongersma (Stanford University, USA)
  • Hong-Tong Chen (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Renkun Chen (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Jennifer Dionne (Stanford University, USA)
  • David Erickson (Cornell University, USA)
  • Nicholas Fang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Andrei Faraon (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Javier Garay (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Harald Giessen (Universität Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Julia Greer (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Naomi Halas (Rice University, USA)
  • Hayk Harutyunyan (Emory University, USA)
  • Cherie Kagan (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Boubacar Kante (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Nicolò  Maccaferri (Umeå University, Sweden)
  • Gururaj Naik (Rice University, USA)
  • Justus Ndukaife (Vanderbilt University, USA)
  • Peter Nordlander (Rice University, USA)
  • Georgia Papadakis (ICFO–The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain)
  • Junghyun Park (Samsung, Republic of Korea)
  • Albert Polman (AMOLF, Netherlands)
  • Demitri Psaltis (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Regina Ragan (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Aaswath Raman (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Gennady Shvets (Cornell University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Lisa Poulikakos
University of California, San Diego
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Artur Davoyan
University of California, Los Angeles
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Giulia Tagliabue
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Instiute of Mechanical Engineering

Polina Vabishchevich
University of Maryland
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support