Symposium EL16-Carrier-Dopant Interactions in Organic Semiconductors—From Fundamentals to Applications

This symposium will bring together experimental and computational researchers to discuss advances in our knowledge of doped organic semiconductors and organic mixed ionic-electronic conductors. Organic semiconductors are typically doped to raise their electrical conductivity by exposing them to molecules—termed dopants—that add or remove electrons. Doping can adversely impact charge transport and the origin of this impact has been studied invoking competing hypotheses. These include the formation of deep traps, energetic disorder from Coulombic interactions between dopant and carriers, charge transfer complexes, and many others. Recent research has demonstrated novel ways to minimize the adverse impact of dopants on transport, ranging from lengthening side chains to increase charge separation, multi-charge transfer, disorder compensation between the polymer and the dopant-induced energetic disorder, as well as numerous other advances. This symposium will focus on these recent advances in doping strategies, doping mechanisms as well as their influence on carrier transport of organic semiconductors and the avenues they open toward better organic electronics, thermoelectrics and photovoltaics. Of particular interest are the studies that probe the impact of polymer and small molecule structure, polymer morphology, dopant structure, additives, and the location of dopants within the polymer on the electronic and charge transport properties. The aim of this symposium is for researchers from diverse backgrounds and locations to come together and openly discuss the recent developments in this area, with the common goals of developing unifying hypotheses and design strategies that can lead to high performance doped organic semiconductors.

Topics will include:

  • Materials for Energy: Conversion, Harvesting, Storage and Beyond

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Zlatan Akšamija (University of Utah, USA)
  • Kilwon Cho (Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Kenneth Graham (University of Kentucky, USA)
  • Kedar Hippalgaonkar (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Antoine Kahn (Princeton University, USA)
  • Howard Katz (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Norbert Koch (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany)
  • Anna Köhler (Universität Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Jan Anton Koster (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Martijn Kremerink (Universität Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Karl Leo (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
  • Franziska Lissel (Leibniz-Institut für Polymerforschung, Germany)
  • Seth Marder (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)
  • Adam Moulé (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Christian Müller (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • KS Narayan (Jawaharlal Nehru Institute for Advanced Scientific Research, India)
  • Shrayesh Patel (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • Ingo Salzmann (Concordia University, Canada)
  • Geneviève Sauvé (Case Western Reserve University, USA)
  • Benjamin Schwartz (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Alessandro Triosi (University of Liverpool, United Kingdom)
  • Deepak Venkateshvaran (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Wei You (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Dhandapani Venkataraman
University of Massachusetts Amherst
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Nagarjuna Gavvalapalli
Georgetown University
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Mukundan Thelakkat
Universität Bayreuth
Department of Chemistry
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Luisa Whittaker-Brooks
The University of Utah
Department of Chemistry
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support