Symposium QT01-Excitonic Materials

Excitons or bound electron-hole pairs form the backbone of a large class of low-dimensional and quantum materials showing exotic physical and chemical properties. Current studies in Excitonic Materials are really progressing very rapidly in newer directions as well as in novel materials. Therefore, the main focus of this symposium will be to catch the recent progresses in the materials science of Excitonic Materials from both fundamental science and emerging applications. Another important objective of the proposed symposium on Excitonic Materials will be to have cross-disciplinary exchange of results and ideas among researchers working on different aspects of excitons.

Topics will include:

  • Excitons in Novel Materials: 2D Materials, Perovskites, Oxides, Group IV, II-VI and III-V semiconductors, Colloidal Nanocrystals, Organic Semiconductors and Polymers, Synthesis & Fabrication, Metamaterials.
  • Excitonic phenomena: Exciton Transport, Spintronics & Magneto-optical properties, Excitonic BEC etc, Excitonic Molecules, Rydberg Excitons, Mahan excitons, Excitons under strain and electric fields.
  • Time resolved studies of Excitons: Exciton-Polaritons, Plexitons, Non-linear Optical Properties, Ultra-fast Spectroscopy.
  • Excitons in Quantum Materials and Quantum Technologies: Excitonic Qubits, Quantum Control of Single Excitons, Quantum Coherent Control of Excitons, Single-photon emitters based on Excitons.
  • Different varieties of Excitons: Topological Excitons, Interfacial Excitons, Hybrid Frenkel-Mott Wannier Excitons, Electronic Structure Calculation of Excitonic Materials, Dark and Bright Excitons, Interlayer excitons.
  • Device Applications of Excitons: Excitonic Photochemistry and Photocatalysis, Energy Harvesting and Solar Energy Conversions, Energy Efficient Solid State Lighting, Biomaterials and Biotechnology.
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Ashish Arora (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, India)
  • Uri Banin (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
  • Rudolf Bratschitsch (University of Münster, Germany)
  • Andrey Chaves (Universidade Federal do Ceara, Brazil)
  • Keshav M. Dani (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
  • Hui Deng (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Subhabrata Dhar (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India)
  • Jaroslav Fabian (Universität Regensburg, Germany)
  • Robert Hoye (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Deep Jariwala (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Dinesh Kabra (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India)
  • Bumjoon Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Jeongyong Kim (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Julian Klein (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Maksym Kovalenko (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Martin Kroner (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Makoto Kuwata-Gonokami (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Kai-Qiang Lin (Xiamen University, China)
  • Kaushik Majumdar (Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India)
  • Liberato Manna (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy)
  • Xavier Marie (Institut National des Sciences Appliquées, France)
  • Oksana Ostroverkhova (Oregon State University, USA)
  • Marcos A. Pimenta (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil)
  • Paulina Plochocka (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
  • Marek Potemski (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
  • Karthik Shankar (University of Alberta, Canada)
  • Michelle Yvonne Simmons (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Daniel Wigger (Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin, Ireland)
  • Stefan Zollner (New Mexico State University, USA)
  • Xiaolong Zou (Tsinghua University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Shouvik Datta
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Sudeshna Chattopadhyay
Indian Institute of Technology Indore
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Yara Galvão Gobato
Universidade Federal de São Carlos
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Ursula Wurstbauer
University of Münster
Institute of Physics
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided, [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support