Symposium SF03-Inorganic Materials to Overcome the Challenges of Tomorrow

Chemistry plays a central role in the development and characterization of new inorganic materials. From developing synthetic techniques that make new families of materials available to elucidating correlations between the crystal structure and functionality, solid state chemistry unifies researchers across several disciplines. This symposium will provide a forum for discussing the underpinning science of synthesis of new materials and exploring how the structure of a phase dictates its physical properties. Presentations on advanced characterization methods to elucidate the fundamental mechanisms for how materials assemble at the atomic level. Talks on new characterization techniques potentially incorporating AI/ML techniques for experimental control and data analysis and the characterization of novel materials for magnetic, dielectric, and porous materials are also encouraged. This symposium offers the opportunity for experimental and computational materials chemists to discuss the current state-of-the-art in materials design and characterization. Contributions that use detailed structure and property characterization are encouraged, particularly when supported by electronic structure calculations.

Topics will include:

  • Photocatalysis
  • Solid state lighting
  • Porous materials
  • Energy storage
  • Dielectrics, ferroelectrics, and multiferroics
  • New compositions and materials
  • Thermoelectrics
  • Crystal chemistry
  • X-ray and neutron scattering

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Phoebe Allen (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Sabarjit Banerjee (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Megan Butala (University of Florida, USA)
  • Jean-Noël Chotard (Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France)
  • Raphaële Clément (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Matt Cliffe (University of Nottingham, United Kingdom)
  • Sabine Devautour-Vinot (Université Montpellier, France)
  • Omar Farah (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Daniel Fredrickson (University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA)
  • Aiko Fukazawa (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Jeremiah Gassensmith (The University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
  • Andrew Goodwin (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Becky Greenaway (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Claire Hobday (The University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
  • Geneva Laurita (Bates College, USA)
  • Dae-Woon Lim (Yonsei University, Republic of Korea)
  • Adam Michalchuk (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Jayakanth Ravichandran (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Tomce Runcevski (Southern Methodist University, USA)
  • Alina Schimpf (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Daniel Shoemaker (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Mizuki Tada (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Shinya Takaishi (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • Mercedes Taylor (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Hui Wu (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA)
  • Dianne Xiao (University of Washington, USA)
  • Yusuke Yamauchi (The University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Sihai Yang (University of Manchester, United Kingdom)
  • Hamish Yeung (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)

Symposium Organizers

Craig Brown
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Michelle Dolgos
University of Calgary
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Rie Makiura
Osaka Metropolitan University
Department of Materials Science
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Brent Melot
University of Southern California

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support