S23 Landing Banner

Symposium EL08-Plasmonics and Metasurfaces—Design, Materials and Applications

The symposium will address the fundamentals and applications of multidimensional fields of plasmonics, nanophotonics, and metasurfaces. It will address emerging topics of hybrid nanophotonics utilizing plasmonics, metasurfaces, and two-dimensional materials to overcome existing limitations that prevent the development of practical photonic devices. The symposium seeks to provide a general overview of recent advances in new material platforms and structure design, including fabrication techniques and promising applications.
The recent discovery of new plasmonic/metasurface materials as well as layered and two-dimensional materials with low loss, tunable optical properties, and CMOS compatibility can enable a breakthrough in the field of nanophotonics, optical metamaterials, and their applications. Novel nonlinear and quantum phenomena, advanced design based on machine learning, and new simulation methods for metasurface and plasmonic materials/devices are also of interest to this symposium.

Topics will include:

  • Plasmonics and Metasurfaces
  • Alternative plasmonic and metasurface materials
  • Materials with epsilon-near-zero and hyperbolic dispersion properties
  • Active tunable plasmonics and metasurfaces
  • Biological and chemical sensing with plasmonics and metasurfaces
  • Quantum and thermal plasmonics and metasurfaces
  • Ultrafast and nonlinear effects in metamaterials and plasmonics
  • Photonics with two-dimensional materials
  • Photovoltaic applications and efficient light harvesting
  • Novel fabrication techniques for improving plasmonic/metasurface properties

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Andrey A. Sukhorukov (Australian National University, Australia)
  • Amir Arbabi (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
  • Harry Atwater (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Mark Brongersma (Stanford University, USA)
  • Federico Capasso (Harvard University, USA)
  • Jennifer Dionne (Stanford University, USA)
  • Jonathan Fan (Stanford University, USA)
  • Andrei Faraon (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Patrice Genevet (Université Côte d'Azur, France)
  • Juejun Hu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Volker J. Sorger (George Washington University, USA)
  • Boubacar Kanté (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Nathaniel Kinsey (Virginia Commonwealth University, USA)
  • Yuri Lu (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
  • Stefan Maier (Monash University, Australia)
  • Arka Majumdar (University of Washington, USA)
  • Asger Mortensen (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)
  • Xingjie Ni (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Junsuk Rho (Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Markus Schmidt (Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology, Germany)
  • Matthew Sheldon (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Ruzan Sokhoyan (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Din-Ping Tsai (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Ming-Lun Tseng (National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Taiwan)
  • Kiyoul Yang (Harvard University, USA)
  • Yuanmu Yang (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Nanfang Yu (Columbia University, USA)
  • Yang Zhao (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Nikolay Zheludev (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)

Symposium Organizers

Howard (Ho Wai) Lee
University of California, Irvine
Department of Physics & Astronomy

Yao-Wei Huang
National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Department of Photonics
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Min Seok Jang
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Republic of Korea
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Pin-Chieh Wu
National Cheng Kung University
Department of Photonics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support