S23 Landing Banner

Symposium ES02-Operando Characterization of Energy Storage Materials

The recent advances in improving energy storage materials can be partially attributed to the mechanistic understanding of spatial and temporal phenomena at relevant lengths and time scales. Electrochemical storage systems comprise multiple components and are intrinsically out-of-equilibrium, necessitating an indepth understanding of the reactions within and between individual parts under operating conditions. In the past decade, progress in operando characterization led to a paradigm shift in our understanding of mechanical and electrochemical processes during intercalation and charge transport. Nevertheless, the complexity of the multi-component electrochemical storage systems requires further developments, particularly a concerted effort in multimodal characterization.

This symposium will highlight the most recent developments in the operando characterization of electrochemical systems, including x-ray characterization, electron microscopy, nuclear magnetic resonance, and electron paramagnetic resonance. The symposium will cover various scientific topics, including intercalation, ionic diffusion, reduction-oxidation reactions, and structural rearrangements in materials for lithium-ion energy storage and beyond. The symposium aims to provide a discussion platform and to facilitate a combination of multiple operando techniques for the future multimodal characterization of electrochemical systems.

Topics will include:

  • Operando x-ray diffraction (XRD)
  • Operando X-ray imaging
  • Operando X-ray spectroscopy
  • Operando Nuclear Magnetic Resonant Spectroscopy (NMR)
  • In situ Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM)
  • Operando Electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy (EPR)

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Peng Bai (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)
  • Hye Ryung Byon (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • EunAe Cho (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Tijmen Euser (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  • Donal Finegan (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Enyuan Hu (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yan-Yan Hu (Florida State University, USA)
  • Sooyeon Hwang (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
  • Minkyung Kim (Kwangwoon University, Republic of Korea)
  • Lu Xi Li (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Johanna Nelson Weker (Stanford University, USA)
  • Elodie Salager (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
  • Feifei Shi (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Vasiliki Tileli (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Claire Villevieille (Institut polytechnique de Grenoble, France)
  • Naoaki Yabuuchi (Yokohama National University, Japan)
  • Yao Yang (University of California, Berkeley, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Raphaële Clément
University of California, Santa Barbara
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Feng Lin
Virginia Tech

Yijin Liu
Stanford University
Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Andrej Singer
Cornell University
Materials Science and Engineering
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support