S23 Landing Banner

Symposium QT03-Physics of 2D Halide and Chalcogenides Semiconductors

The discovery of mechanically exfoliated graphene in 2004 triggered a “two-dimensional (2D) fever” in the fields of condensed matter physics, material science, chemistry, and nanotechnology. Since then, research on ultrathin 2D nanomaterials has grown exponentially, highlighting their compelling physical, chemical, and optoelectronic properties. Among the plethora of semiconducting layered materials, the families of transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDCs) and 2D perovskites have received particular attention over the past few years. Their unique properties make them particularly attractive for a new generation of optoelectronic and energy-harvesting devices. They also constitute an excellent playground for exploring new exotic phenomena in the ultimate 2D limit associated with strong interactions between electronic, photonic, and vibrational excitations. Moreover, the advent of van der Waals nature introduced a new paradigm of heterostructure engineering free of lattice matching constraints and offering new avenues for condensed matter physics. In turn, to understand the associated fundamental phenomena that make these materials exceptional for basic science and novel application routes requires close collaborations and intense exchange within a broad community of researchers in material science, physics, and chemistry.

This symposium will serve as a platform for researchers currently working at the forefront of semiconducting 2D materials with a focus on the fundamental properties of these systems and their development towards future applications. Bringing together experts from different fields such as inorganic, hybrid, and colloidal 2D materials will lead to exciting exchange of ideas in view of the similarities and distinctions of these systems, thus providing the participants with a broad perspective on 2D materials physics. Research topics covered in the symposium will include developments in materials chemistry and growth mechanisms, latest advances in photophysics, transport of charge carriers and excitons, as well as ultrafast spectroscopy and theoretical modeling. Submitted abstracts may focus on various novel material platforms such as low-dimensional perovskites, transition metal dichalcogenides, colloidal systems, and van der Waals heterostructures bridging different families of these materials. The experimental sessions will be complemented by sessions focusing on the theoretical description and the development of new methods and approaches.

Topics will include:

  • Excitons in layered semiconductors
  • Charge carrier and exciton transport in 2D
  • Role of defects and impurity doping
  • Heterostructures: charge and energy transfer
  • Lattice dynamics, carrier-phonon coupling and polaron formation
  • Growth and fabrication
  • Ultrafast phenomena and many-body effects
  • Theoretical modeling and computational approaches
  • Chirality and spin phenomena
  • Strain engineering

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Claudia Backes (University of Kassel, Germany)
  • Milan Delor (Columbia University, USA)
  • Goki Eda (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Sascha Feldmann (Harvard University, USA)
  • Marina R. Filip (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Jonathan Finely (Walter Schottky Institut Technische Universität München, Germany)
  • Naomi Ginsberg (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Cherie Kagan (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Erik Kirstein (Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany)
  • Maria Loi (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Ermin Malic (Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany)
  • David Mitzi (Duke University, USA)
  • Archana Raja (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Sivan Refaely-Abramson (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
  • Tomasz Smolenski (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Costas Stoumpos (University of Crete, Greece)
  • Yana Vaynzof (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
  • George Volonakis (Université de Rennes, France)

Symposium Organizers

Paulina Plochocka
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Michal Baranowski
Politechnika Wroclawska
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Alexey Chernikov
Technische Universität Dresden
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Alexander Urban
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Department of Physics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support