2019 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium EP07-Next-Generation Interconnects—Materials, Processes and Integration

Even as conventional Cu/ULK interconnect technology has slowed in recent years due to challenges in both ultra-low k integration and metal barrier scaling, a plethora of options are being investigated for technology nodes below 10 nm, including new conductors, dielectrics, barrier layers, and process integration methods. In parallel, emerging technologies such as 3D ICs integration are demonstrating means to improve circuit density and performance. Technologies including 3D monolitic or Through Silicon Vias are increasingly utilizing recent interconnect material and process advances to further packaging innovations. Finally, using interconnects as a backbone, the introduction of additional functionalities in the BEOL has constituted new areas of research and opportunity. This session will focus on both continued advances in conventional interconnect technology and new emerging areas. Topics will include advances in ILD materials and integration, novel etch stop and hard-mask materials, advanced metallization materials and processes, area selective deposition and supervia scaling boosters, alternatives to conventional interconnect technology (3D, optical interconnects, ..) and the introduction of additional functionalities in the BEOL.

Topics will include:

  • Low-k dielectrics and porous thin films, deposition, characterization and integration
  • Novel Etch Stop, Hardmask and Spacer Materials
  • Metallization for Advanced Interconnects, materials and processes
  • Selective Deposition Processes
  • 3D interconnects and other alternatives to Cu/ULK interconnects
  • Introduction of additional functionality in the BEOL
  • Electrical and mechanical reliability

Invited Speakers:

  • Ehrenfried Zschech (Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems IKTS, Germany)
  • Young-Chang Joo (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Rob Ameloot (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium)
  • Stacey Bent (Stanford University, USA)
  • Larry Clevenger (IBM, USA)
  • Sean King (Intel Corporation, USA)
  • Junichi Koike (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • Roger Quon (Applied Materials, USA)
  • Danna Rosenberg (Massachusetts Institute of Technology Lincoln Laboratory, USA)
  • Andrew H. Simon (IBM Research Division)
  • Marc Veillerot (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, France)
  • Shinji Yokogawa (University of Electro-Communications, Japan)

Symposium Organizers

Vincent Jousseaume
Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives

Eiichi Kondoh
University of Yamanashi

Frank Mont

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature