2019 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium ES02-Next-Generation Intercalation Batteries

Safer, less expensive, and larger scale solutions for energy storage require a highly interdisciplinary approach to meet the growing demands of society. Batteries based on intercalation chemistry offer some of the highest energy densities, but presently must compromise in terms of safe operation and price. Developing new materials that can revolutionize energy storage requires a holistic view of these devices, and an understanding of how their constituent materials perform at all length scales; from the unit cell to microstructural morphology.

This symposium will explore the state-of-the-art of materials design for Li-, Na-, and Mg-ion batteries. There will be a strong focus on the development of new intercalation electrodes and solid electrolytes, with particular emphasis on the crystal chemistry that allows reversible (de)intercalation of ions. Contributions are encouraged on in situ and operando techniques used to study changes in electronic structure and local ion coordination environments. The symposium will also explore the complementary insight offered by computational and multiscale modeling for characterizing ion-conduction mechanisms and rates. These sessions will provide a forum where experimental and computational materials scientists can discuss the fundamental and technological challenges of developing new Li-(Na-,Mg-)ion battery materials, and identify ways to overcome present limitations with respect to safety concerns and the high manufacturing costs.

Topics will include:

  • New intercalation hosts of Na-, Mg-, and Li-ion electrodes
  • Computational and multiscale modeling
  • In situ and operando characterization
  • Crystal chemistry
  • X-ray spectroscopy
  • Solid Electrolytes

Invited Speakers:

  • Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Chris Wolverton (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Jordi Cabana (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)
  • Clare Grey (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Marca Doeff (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Stanley Whittingham (Binghamton University, USA)
  • Ryoji Kanno (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Bettina Lotsch (Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Germany)
  • Sathiya Mariyappan (College de France, France)
  • Bryan McCloskey (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Shyue Ping Ong (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Jack Vaughey (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Masayoshi Watanabe (Yokohama National University, Japan)
  • Brandon Wood (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Heng-Liang Wu (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
  • Atsuo Yamada (University of Tokyo, Japan)

Symposium Organizers

Brent Melot
University of Southern California

Benjamin Morgan
University of Bath
Department of Chemistry
United Kingdom

Louis Piper
Binghamton University
Physics, Applied Physics and Astronomy

Kimberly See
California Institute of Technology
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature