2019 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium ES10-Rational Design Hierarchical Nanostructures for Photocatalytic System

Photocatalysis plays an important role in a diverse range of applications including emerging technology related to clean energy, sustainable environment and petrochemical industry such as water splitting, CO2 reduction, nitrogen fixation, pollutant treatment, energy conversion and organic reaction. In nature, photosynthesis is achieved broad light absorption and highly efficient charge transfer process by constructing hierarchical nanostructure. Heterojunction and Z-scheme systems based on rational designed hierarchical nanostructure materials have been emerged in the solar energy conversion to enhance photogenerated charge separation and transfer efficiency. It further reaches efficiently convert solar energy into chemical energy. Furthermore, understanding the photophysical process of interface between two semiconductors in heterojunction and Z-scheme, between semiconductor and liquid, will be beneficial to the design of hierarchical photocatalytic materials. In this sense, rational design and preparation of photocatalytic materials with tailored structure and functions, deep understanding both materials’ work mechanism and interfacial between solid/solid and solid/liquid properties are crucial for the development of novel photocatalytic materials, devices and system.

Topics will include:

  • Novel organic aggregates for photocatalyst with narrow band gap: design, synthesis and self-assembly
  • Heterojunction nanostructures for enhanced photocatalytic performance
  • Inorganic/organic, inorganic/biological hybrid nanostructure for solar conversion
  • Constructing Z-Scheme type nanostructures for high efficient photocatalytic materials
  • Metal/semiconductor hybrid nanostructures for photocatalysis
  • Photo-exicited hot carrier driven chemical transformation
  • Theoretical calculation and simulation on the photocatalytic system
  • Rational designed core/shell nanostructure for photocatalysis

Invited Speakers:

  • Patrik Schmuki (Friedrich-Alexander-University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)
  • Annabella Selloni (Princeton University, USA)
  • Zaicheng Sun (Beijing University of Technology, China)
  • Hongyou Fan (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Lianzhou Wang (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Hua Zhang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Zhiqun Lin (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Liming Dai (Case Western Reserve University, USA)
  • Ryu Abe (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Yang Chai (The Hongkong Polytechnic University, China)
  • P. Davide Cozzoli (University of Salento, Italy)
  • David Ginger (University of Washington, USA)
  • Takashi Hisatomi (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Akihide Iwase (Tokyo University of Science, Japan)
  • Yanguang Li (Soochow University, China)
  • Guido Mul (Guido Mul, Netherlands)
  • Narayan Pradhan (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, India)
  • Kirk Schanze (University of Florida, USA)
  • Francesca Maria Toma (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jianfang Wang (Chinese University of Hong Kong, China)
  • Mikhail Zamkov (Bowling Green State University, USA)
  • Bing Zhang (Tianjin University, China)
  • Jian Zhang (Guilin University of Electronic Technology, China)
  • Zhi Zheng (Xuchang University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Yingbing Jiang
Angstrom Thin Film Technology LLC
University of New Mexico

Yugang Sun
Temple University
Department Chemistry

Feng Bai
Henan University

Jiatao Zhang
Beijing Institute of Technology (BIT)

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature