2019 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium QN03-2D Materials—Tunable Physical Properties, Heterostructures and Device Applications

The isolation of layered materials with van der Waals inter-planar bonding into stable, atomically thin sheets has ushered in a new area for materials science, condensed matter physics and device engineering. Apart from the “all-surface” nature of two-dimensional (2D) materials, the ability to dynamically and dramatically tune their electronic and optical properties by application of external stimuli enables their application into fundamentally novel opto-electronic devices. In several cases the introduction of 2D materials into conventional device architectures enables functions and properties hitherto unseen and unachieved in bulk materials based devices ultimately leading to new applications. In addition, various novel synthesis and assembly approaches have enabled lateral and vertical heterostructures composed of layered 2D materials, leading to the formation of new artificial van der Waals solids. In addition, controlled mechanical deformation of layered 2D materials and heterostructures has allowed deterministic creation of three dimensional (3D) functional morphologies with new structural properties and device-level functionalities. Given the scale of recent developments and activity in this field, this symposium is dedicated to promoting communication among researchers working on investigating fundamental properties of 2D materials, heterostructures and device applications of the same.

The symposium will primarily focus on the well-established elemental 2D materials such as graphene and black phosphorus as well as compound materials such as transition metal chalcogenides from which devices have been routinely fabricated and demonstrated. Besides, it will also focus on more merging 2D materials such as borophene, silicene, antimonene, germanene etc. as well as layered halide perovskites and selenides, tellurides of bismuth and antimony which exhibit tunable, topological phenomena. The focus will be on investigation of fundamental steady state physical properties as well as excited state phenomena and their tunability under external stimuli. The symposium will also focus on synthesis/assembly, theoretical modeling, emergent properties and applications of layered 2D atomically-thin materials and heterostructures, elucidating how materials synthesis/assembly and controlled deformation can enable new materials properties and device functions. The organizing team is a mix of early career and well established academics from US and European universities with strong representation of gender, racial and geographical diversity.

Interdisciplinary topics related to materials science, mechanics, physics and chemistry will be presented by invited speakers in order to accelerate the development of these new forms of materials and applications. Interdisciplinary presentations from invited speakers are also aimed to motivate synergistic research collaborations in the field of layered 2D materials and heterostructures.

Topics will include:

  • Electronic/optical/magnetic/thermal properties and devices of 2D materials
  • Heterostructure devices with tunable electronic properties for logic circuits
  • Controlled deformation and straining of 2D materials and heterostructures
  • Plasmons and excitons in 2D material systems
  • Tunable emission from 2D materials and other van der Waals materials systems
  • Metasurfaces and optical devices from 2D materials
  • Nanophotonics devices for energy harvesting and photodetection
  • Hybrid quasiparticles and mixed light-matter states
  • Topological phenomena, surface and edge states in 2D and Van der Waals materials
  • First principles, charge transport and electromagnetic modeling of devices
  • Optical cavity coupling and photonic confinement in 2D materials

Invited Speakers:

  • Deji Akinwande (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Nanshu Lu (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Xiaolin Zheng (Stanford University, USA)
  • Claudia Backes (University of Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Lincoln Lauhon (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Eric Pop (Stanford University, USA)
  • Bettina Lotsch (Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Germany)
  • Andrea Ferrari (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Nicola Marzari (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Pulickel Ajayan (Rice University, USA)
  • Xiaodong Xu (University of Washington, USA)
  • Koray Aydin (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Alexander Balandin (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Lee Bassett (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Rohit Chikkaraddy (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Mandar Deshmukh (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India)
  • Nicholas Glavin (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Alexander Holleitner (Technical University of Munich, Germany)
  • Byung Hee Hong (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Mahmooda Sultana (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA)
  • Chun Ning Lau (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • Gwan-Hyung Lee (Yonsei University, Republic of Korea)
  • Peter Liu (University of Buffalo, USA)
  • Nadya Mason (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Alessandro Molle (Institute for Microelectronics and Microsystems, Italy)
  • Thomas Mueller (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  • Amalia Patane (University of Nottingham, United Kingdom)
  • Berend T. Jonker (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Luke Sweatlock (Northrop Grumman, USA)
  • Yu Yao (Arizona State University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

SungWoo Nam
University of California, Irvine
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Victor Brar
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature