2019 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium SM05-Supramolecular Biomaterials for Regenerative Medicine and Drug Delivery

The practice of crafting functional soft materials, well-suited to important tasks in biology and medicine, can be guided by the rational design of its constituting units at the molecular level. The covalent and non-covalent interactions that define such a material begin with chemical structures of the constituting motif as well as its supramolecular chemistry (i.e., “chemistry beyond the molecule”). By this approach, materials with controllable properties across multiple length scales are formed with properties arising from their supramolecular make-up, including being reversible, highly tunable, and dynamic. As such, the creation of supramolecular materials has become an exciting new direction in the field of engineered biomaterials. The reliance on specific, non-covalent interactions affords opportunities in developing materials with “smart” functionality or activity that can be tuned in response to a specific application. Moreover, conserving the specific supramolecular motif realizes a modular approach to customize a material to address a specific need or therapeutic application. These efforts have resulted in a suite of new and highly functional biomaterials and nanotechnologies for applications in cell biology, regenerative medicine, and drug delivery. In each of these cases, unique features rooted in supramolecular design give rise to important emergent properties.

Topics will include:

  • Supramolecular biomaterials and scaffolds for regenerative medicine
  • Drug delivery facilitated by host-guest chemistry
  • Molecular self-assembly with supramolecular ordering
  • Supramolecular nanostructure for molecular imaging and disease diagnosis
  • Self-immolative and self-healing biomaterials

Invited Speakers:

  • Sarah Heilshorn (Stanford University, USA)
  • Samuel Stupp (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Rein Ulijn (Hunter College City University of New York, USA)
  • Bing Xu (Brandeis University, USA)
  • Helena Azevedo (Queen Mary University London, United Kingdom)
  • Matthew Baker (Maastricht University, Netherlands)
  • Maartje Bastings (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Job Boekhoven (Technical University Munich, Germany)
  • Joel Collier (Duke University, USA)
  • Zhibin Guan (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Jeff Hartgerink (Rice University, USA)
  • Jim Hedrick (IBM, USA)
  • Niels Holten-Anderson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Oren Scherman (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Matthew Tirrell (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Tanja Weil (Max Planck Institute, Germany)
  • Xi Zhang (Tsinghua University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Matthew Webber
University of Notre Dame

Eric Appel
Stanford University

Honggang Cui
Johns Hopkins University

Patricia Dankers
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature