2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Symposium Sessions


  • Characterization and Theory (CT)
  • Electronics and Photonics (EL)
  • Energy, Storage and Conversion (EN)
  • Nanoscale and Quantum Materials (NM)
  • Soft Materials and Biomaterials (SM)

Symposium S.EN05—Low-Cost Aqueous Rechargeable Battery Technologies

This symposium will cover aqueous rechargeable batteries (ARBs), their associated materials engineering challenges, and performance optimization. With the increasing integration of renewable power sources such as wind and solar into the electrical grid, there is a need for inexpensive, dependable, and safe electrochemical energy storage systems to stabilize the inherent fluctuations of such sources. The low production costs (potentially below $100/kWh), non-flammability, environmental friendliness, and moderate energy density of ARBs make them promising candidates for grid-scale storage, but their adoption has been hindered by limited cycle life and reliability. For example, zinc anodes in traditional alkaline batteries suffer from shape changes, dendrite formation, and irreversible passivation during cycling. This symposium will elucidate understanding of the processes and limitations of conventional alkaline ARB chemistries, such as zinc–manganese oxide and zinc–air, as well as the emerging chemistries with intercalation electrodes and neutral, mildly acidic, or “water-in-salt” electrolytes. Contributions will span the full technology life cycle, from investigation of new electrode and separator materials and architectures, and new electrolyte formulations, to larger-scale electrode processing strategies, to design and evaluation of multi-cell grid-scale battery systems. Besides materials development, presentations will be solicited on more fundamental studies of ARB behavior, such as advanced in situ/in operando characterization and theoretical calculations to correlate electrode microstructural evolution with electrochemical properties. Macroscale modeling of battery performance at the single-cell and multi-cell levels, is also welcomed. Accompanying analyses of the economic, safety, reliability, and energy/power density constraints of grid storage applications are also encouraged to inform and motivate fundamental material development. This symposium will therefore aim to bring together speakers from academia, national laboratories, and companies to offer a diversity of perspectives on current progress in ARB technology and promote productive discussions on future research directions.

Topics will include:

  • New electrode and/or separator materials, additives, and architectures for ARBs
  • New electrolytes or additives to traditional electrolytes
  • Non-traditional ARB chemistries
  • Improved electrode processing techniques
  • Failure mechanisms of ARBs
  • Manufacturing of large-scale ARB systems for grid storage
  • Modeling and/or advanced characterization of electrode processes during cycling
  • Modeling operation of grid-scale ARB systems
  • In operando studies of cells
  • Cost analysis and optimization of ARB technology

Invited Speakers:

  • Chunyi Zhi (City University of Hong Kong, China)
  • Zhi Chunyi (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Jihui Yang (University of Washington, USA)
  • Debra Rolison (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Kang Xu (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Yan Yao (University of Houston, USA)
  • Liqiang Mai (Wuhan University of Technology, China)
  • Lynden Archer (Cornell University, USA)
  • Esther Takeuchi (Stony Brook University, USA)
  • Sanjoy Banerjee (CUNY, USA)
  • Prabeer Barpanda (Indian Institute of Science, India)
  • Scott Donne (The University of Newcastle, Australia, Australia)
  • Timothy Lambert (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Eivind Listerud (ZAF Energy Systems, USA)
  • Sri Narayan (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Huilin Pan (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Daniel Steingart (Columbia University, USA)
  • Damon Turney (The City University of New York, USA)
  • Xia Wei (ZPower, USA)
  • David Wilkinson (The University of British Columbia, Canada)

Symposium Organizers

Matthew Lim
Sandia National Laboratories
Energy Storage Technology and Systems

Joshua Gallaway
Northeastern University
Chemical Engineering

Jaekook Kim
Chonnam National University
Materials Science and Engineering
Republic of Korea

Gautam Yadav
The City University of New York
Energy Institute

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature