2021 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

Symposium CT02-In Situ TEM Characterization of Dynamic Processes During Materials Synthesis and Processing

In Situ imaging and spectroscopy techniques have emerged as primary tools for characterizing the dynamics of materials formation. The development of in situ capabilities for TEM has led to rapid advances in our understanding of nucleation, growth, assembly and coarsening in colloidal, electrochemical, organic, macromolecular, semiconductor, biomineral and other solution-based systems. The symposium will cover a broad range of topics related to in situ studies of materials formation including cluster formation and dynamics, particle nucleation, crystal growth, phase transformations, crystal defect formation and elimination, recrystallization, nanoparticle interactions and assembly, nanowire growth, polymeric, macromolecular and organic/inorganic self-assembly, chemical reactions, and interface dynamics in gases and liquids. This symposium aims to provide a platform of discussion to understand the physics and chemistry of materials formation using in situ TEM techniques for researchers from various fields.

Topics will include:

  • Nucleation and crystal growth from solutions, melts and vapors
  • Phase transformations
  • Chemical and electrochemical reactions
  • Interface-driven processes
  • Mechanically, electrically or magnetically driven processes
  • Self-assembly of nanoparticle superlattices
  • Polymeric and organic/inorganic self-assembly and nanoparticle mediated growth and oriented attachment
  • Crystallization in biomineral and biomimetic systems
  • Electron beam effects during in situ study via transmission electron microscopy
  • Technical advances, applications and practical experiences associated with electrochemical processes including batteries, water splitting, fuel cell and photoelectrochemistry.
  • Developments in specialized holders and electron microscopes, data analysis and mining
  • Practical challenges for microscopy

Invited Speakers:

  • Grace Burke (University of Manchester, United Kingdom)
  • Qian Chen (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Miaofang Chi (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Peter Crozier (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Niels De Jonge (Leibniz Institute for New Materials, Germany)
  • Jennifer Dionne (Stanford University, USA)
  • Yu Han (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Yuki Kimura (Hokkaido University, Japan)
  • Eva Olsson (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Quentin Ramasse (SuperSTEM, United Kingdom)
  • Frances Ross (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Rainer Straubinger (Protochips, USA)
  • Haimei Zheng (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Dongsheng Li
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Madeline Dukes

Robert Sinclair
Stanford University

Daliang Zhang
Chongqing University

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support