2022 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit Landing Banner

Symposium Sessions

Topical Clusters

  • Characterization (CH)
  • Materials Theory, Computation and Data (DS)
  • Energy and Sustainability (EN)
  • Electronics, Optics and Photonics (EQ)
  • Manufacturing (MF)
  • Nanomaterials (NM)
  • Quantum (QT)
  • Biomaterials and Soft Materials (SB)
  • Structural and Functional Materials (SF)

Symposium EQ08—Quantum Dot Optoelectronics and Low-Dimensional Semiconductor Electronics

This symposium is jointly organized by MRS and MRS-Korea (MRS-K). Since its foundation in 1991, MRS-K has been serving as a great platform where a number of researchers in materials science from both academia and industry interact, promoting the growth of the technology and scholarship of the materials science and engineering. One of the main interests of the society is functional materials for (opto)electronic and energy applications. As such, the joint symposium is dedicated to the topic of quantum dot optoelectronics and low-dimensional semiconductor materials for electronics and (photo)electrochemical applications. The low-dimensional structures of interest include quantum dots, colloidal nanocrystals, nanowires, nanorods, as well as 2D layered crystals. Relevant materials include (but are not limited to) metal-chalcogenide, binary, tertiary, and quaternary compound semiconductors. The target applications are solar cells, light emitting diodes, and thin film transistors based on low-dimensional semiconductors, but the invitation is extended to other devices such as laser, photo- and radiation-detectors based on active layers in the form of nanostructures. Given the wide use of low-dimensional structures in photoelectrochemical energy conversion, the application of nanostructured semiconductors for photoelectrodes/(photo)electrocatalysts will be also discussed. The symposium will cover advances in the synthesis, characterization, computational modeling and applications of these low-dimensional optoelectronic materials. Given the interdisciplinary nature of the topic, participation of experts with a broad range of backgrounds is anticipated.

Topics will include:

  • Novel synthesis methods of low-dimensional semiconductors, including layered crystals
  • Advances in the controlled assembly of nanocrystals
  • Large scale synthesis of low-dimensional semiconductors
  • Strategies for defect passivation of nanostructures
  • In-situ characterization of formation/degradation of nanostructures
  • Atomic-scale and in-situ characterization of semiconductor nanocrystals
  • Advances in high efficiency quantum dot solar cells
  • Bulk thin films and single crystals of materials with low structural dimensionality
  • Non-toxic III-V semiconductor quantum dots for electroluminescence device applications
  • Thin film transistors based on a layered semiconductor channel
  • Novel nanostructured semiconductors for photoelectrodes/(photo)electrocatalysts in (photo)electrochemical energy conversion devices
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Manish Chhowalla (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Jianbo Gao (Clemson University, USA)
  • Shujuan Huang (Macquarie University, Australia)
  • Kwang Seob Jeong (Korea University, Republic of Korea)
  • Sohee Jeong (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Cherie Kagan (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Hemamala Karunadasa (Stanford University, USA)
  • Joonhyung Kim (Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Tae-Gon Kim (Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Yong-Hyun Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Zheng Liu (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Joseph Luther (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Cecilia Mattevi (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • David Muñoz-Rojas (Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
  • Kevin Musselman (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Lea Nienhaus (Florida State University, USA)
  • Jiwoong Park (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • Shuyan Shao (Tianjin University, China)
  • Dmitri Talapin (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • Ming Lee Tang (The University of Utah, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Byungha Shin
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE)
Republic of Korea

Robert Hoye
<div>University of Oxford</div>
Department of Chemistry
United Kingdom

Shinae Jun
Samsung Electronics
Republic of Korea

Laura Schelhas
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support