2022 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit Landing Banner

Call for Papers

Symposium SF11—Advances in Design, Synthesis and Characterization of Functional Heteroanionic Materials

This symposium will cover recent advances and emerging opportunities in the design, synthesis and characterization of bulk (powders), thin films, and single crystal materials hosting multiple anions. Heteroanionic materials are novel compounds where the anion sublattice involves two or more anionic species and are distinct from polyanionic compounds with oxyanions. They have generated growing interest within the materials science, solid state chemistry, and physics communities arising from the tremendous possibilities they offer to tune chemical bonding through multiple anions, leading to diverse functional properties.In addition, the symposium will highlight worldwide efforts focused on material families such as oxyhydrides, oxyhalides, oxynitrides, and oxychalcogenides that exhibit enhanced or novel function in areas such as catalysis, optical responses, electronic and resistive switching behavior, electrochemical energy storage, ionic conductivity, magnetism, ferroelectricity, and spin-orbit-based phenomena. Computational approaches will be presented that deliver materials design guidelines to accelerate new multiple anion materials discovery as well as provide insight into relationships between anionic bonding environments and electronic band structure. Talks will feature advances in synthesis activities to realize new heteroanionic materials, including energy efficient approaches or those that can be applied to epitaxial heterostructures in thin films. The application of advanced imaging, scattering, and spectroscopic characterization techniques to elucidate structure-property relationships, as well as performance in energy and electronic applications will be covered in the symposium. Speakers will also identify emerging opportunities and future directions, for instance in heteroanionic topological/quantum materials, in situ characterization of topochemical or other synthetic approaches, and data-centered materials discovery.

Topics will include:

  • Theory, simulations, artificial intelligence, and combinatorial approaches for design of new anion-controlled materials design and property predictions
  • Theoretical concepts for novel physics induced by multiple anions
  • Synthesis of bulk compounds and thin films of oxyhydrides, oxyhalides, and oxynitrides, oxychalcogenides, and other multi-anion systems
  • New approaches for energy efficient and environmentally sound processing of heteroanionic materials
  • Approaches to stabilize and characterize local structure and anion order
  • Synchrotron, neutron, and electron microscopy approaches to understand crystallographic implications of anionic substitutions and anionic order
  • Impact of anionic substitutions, alloying, and anionic order on electronic structure, optical responses, and magnetic ordering
  • Technical challenges in the analytical and functional properties characterization of heteroanionic materials
  • Ferroic and multiferroic responses and property design in mixed-anion compounds
  • Heteroanionic materials for the production and storage of energy: photocatalysts, solid electrolytes, fuel cell materials, supercapacitor and battery electrodes, hydrogen storage materials, ionic conductors, and thermoelectric materials
  • Topological heteroanionic materials and/or applications in quantum information systems
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Ulrich Aschauer (University of Bern, Switzerland)
  • Paul Attfield (The University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
  • Akira Chikamatsu (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Simon Clarke (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Oliver Clemens (Universität Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Alain Demourgues (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
  • Amparo Fuertes (Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona, Spain)
  • Joke Hadermann (University of Antwerp, Belgium)
  • Shiv Halasyamani (University of Houston, USA)
  • Tetsuya Hasegawa (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Michael Hayward (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Daigorou Hirai (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Yoji Kobayashi (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Kazuhiko Maeda (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Emma McCabe (Durham University, United Kingdom)
  • Julia Medvedeva (Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA)
  • Olivier Mentre (University of Lille, France)
  • Rohan Mishra (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)
  • Matt Rosseinsky (University of Liverpool, United Kingdom)
  • David Scalon (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Anke Weidenkaff (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Patrick Woodward (The Ohio State University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

James Rondinelli
Northwestern University

Houria Kabbour
University of Lille

Hiroshi Kageyama
Kyoto University
Dept. of Energy & Hydrocarbon Chemistry

Steven May
Drexel University

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support