2022 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit Landing Banner

Symposium SF06—Recent Advances in Structural Materials from Bulk to Nanoscale

Mechanical properties of structural materials for a variety of engineering applications require the use of microstructural engineering at varying length scales. Completely new alloys such as the complex concentrated alloys, self-healing metals are receiving much attention as up-to-date method in achieving improved mechanical properties in bulk alloy systems. In addition, nanoscale metals are known to have excellent strength due to their unique deformation mechanisms, and there are efforts in utilizing the nanoscale metals in 3D hierarchical structures. The aim of this symposium is to cover recent advances in fabrication, advanced microstructural characterization, mechanical properties analysis, and modeling of structural materials with the focus of understanding the effect of different microstructural engineering at varying length scales.

Topics will include:

  • Strength and plasticity at different length scales and the deformation mechanisms.
  • Nanocomposites and multilayers
  • 3D hierarchical structures composed of metal nanostructures
  • High and medium entropy alloys
  • Self-healing alloys
  • Alloy fabrication and processing methods
  • Advanced characterization tools for microstructure analysis
  • Numerical model for designing of new alloys and mechanical behavior analysis

Invited Speakers:

  • Wei Cai (Stanford University, USA)
  • Karsten Durst (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Jaafar El-Awady (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Marc Fivel (Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
  • Juyoung Kim (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Kyung-Suk Kim (Brown University, USA)
  • Hojun Lim (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Sangho Oh (SungKyunKwan Univ, Republic of Korea)
  • Ryan T. Ott (Ames Laboratory, USA)
  • Eun Soo Park (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • George M. Pharr (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Ruth Schwaiger (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Gi-Dong Sim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Douglas Stauffer (Bruker Nano Surface, USA)
  • Dong-Woo Suh (Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Masato Wakeda (National Institute for Materials Science, Japan)

Symposium Organizers

Seung Min Han
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Republic of Korea

Heung Nam Han
Seoul National University
Republic of Korea

Ill Ryu
The University of Texas at Dallas

Ohmura Takahito
National Institute for Materials Science

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support