S23 Landing Banner

Symposium EL05-Molecular and Colloidal Plasmonics—From Synthesis to Application

This symposium aims to bring together a diverse community of researchers who are advancing the field of plasmonics through synthesis, nanofabrication, and application where the greater goal is to provide an understanding of the opportunities and challenges that lie ahead. Topics closely related to synthesis will include chiral plasmonic nanostructures, colloidal plasmonic nanocomposites, hybrid nanostructures, advances in colloidal synthesis, sinter-resistant catalysts, and unconventional plasmonic materials. Advances in nanofabrication pertaining to patterned and self-assembled surfaces, the formation of well-defined and tunable nanogaps, and durable plasmonics will be highlighted. Applications of specific interest include chemical, biological, and optical sensors, plasmonic photocatalysis, plasmonic solar cells, and plasmonics in environmental remediation.

Topics will include:

  • Advances in the colloidal synthesis of plasmonic nanoparticles, 2D and 3D nanoparticle assembly, and patterning
  • Artificial plasmonic molecules: plasmonic coupling, quantum and chirality effects, Fano resonance
  • Colloidal plasmonic nanocomposites and nanoparticle-semiconductor hybrid nanomaterials
  • Plasmonic heating of nanostructures: thermoplasmonics and nanothermometry
  • Surface Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy (SERS) and Tip-Enhanced Raman Excitation Spectroscopy (TERES)
  • Ultrafast transient absorption spectroscopy, single particle spectroscopy, and super-resolution imaging
  • Plasmonic photocatalysts: synthesis, performance, and artificial photosynthesis
  • Plasmonic nanoparticles for drug delivery, pharmaceutical applications, and photothermal therapy
  • Stabilization of plasmonic nanoparticles: durable plasmonics and sinter-resistant plasmonic catalysts

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Jost Adam (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)
  • Jingyi Chen (University of Arkansas, USA)
  • Jennifer Dionne (Stanford University, USA)
  • Michael Engel (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)
  • Laura Fabris (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Hongyou Fan (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Alexander Govorov (Ohio University, USA)
  • Amanda Haes (University of Iowa, USA)
  • Christy Haynes (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Prashant Jain (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Nicholas Kotov (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Christy Landes (Rice University, USA)
  • Howard Lee (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Dongling Ma (Université du Québec, Canada)
  • Jill Millstone (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • Ki Tae Nam (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Zhihong Nie (Fudan University, China)
  • Teri Odom (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Michelle Personick (Wesleyan University, USA)
  • Dong Qin (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Andreas Seifert (CIC nanoGUNE, Spain)
  • Jennifer Shumaker-Parry (The University of Utah, USA)
  • Hui Wang (University of South Carolina, USA)
  • Nianqiang (Nick) Wu (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
  • Xiaohu Xia (University of Central Florida, USA)
  • Younan Xia (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Yadong Yin (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Francis Zamborini (University of Louisville, USA)
  • Hua Zhang (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Jing Zhao (University of Connecticut, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Svetlana Neretina
University of Notre Dame
Departments of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Viktoriia Babicheva
The University of New Mexico
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ateet Dutt
Instituto de Investigaciones en Materiales - UNAM
Materials Research Institute
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Pier Carlo Ricci
Universitá di Cagliari
Department of Physics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature



Symposium Support