S23 Landing Banner

Symposium EL16-Plasmonics, Metasurfaces and Metamaterials—Design, Materials and Applications

The symposium will address the fundamentals and applications of multidimensional fields of plasmonics, nanophotonics, and metasurfaces, ranging from materials to biological applications. It will address emerging topics of hybrid nanophotonics including plasmonics, metamaterials, metasurfaces, and 2D materials to overcome existing limitations that prevent the development of practical photonic devices. The recent discovery of new plasmonic/metasurface materials as well as layered and two-dimensional materials with low loss, tunable optical properties, and CMOS compatibility can enable a breakthrough in the field of nanophotonics, optical metamaterials, and their applications. Novel nonlinear and quantum phenomena and advanced design based on machine learning strategies and new simulation methods for metasurface, metamaterial, and plasmonic materials/devices are also of interest to this symposium.

Topics will include:

  • Metasurfaces and metamaterials
  • Alternative plasmonic and metasurface materials
  • Photonics with two-dimensional materials
  • Materials with epsilon-near-zero and hyperbolic dispersion properties
  • Tunable and quantum metasystems
  • Topological photonic and parity-time symmetric materials
  • Biological and chemical sensing with plasmonics and nanophotonics
  • Ultrafast and nonlinear effects in metamaterials and plasmonics
  • Photovoltaic applications and efficient light harvesting
  • Advanced nanophotonic design based on machine learning strategies and new simulation methods
  • Novel fabrication techniques for improving plasmonic/metasurface properties
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Andrea Alu (The City University of New York, USA)
  • Antonio Ambrosio (Harvard University, USA)
  • Christos Argyropoulos (University of Nebraska–Lincoln, USA)
  • Harry Atwater (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Mark Brongersma (Stanford University, USA)
  • Wenshan Cai (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Nader Engheta (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Eyal Feigenbaum (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Vincent Ginis (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
  • Robin (Chen-Bin) Huang (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
  • Min Seok Jang (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, USA)
  • Nathaniel Kinsey (Virginia Commonwealth University, USA)
  • Mark Lawrence (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)
  • Yu-Jung Lu (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
  • Stefan Maier (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany)
  • Francesco Monticone (Cornell University, USA)
  • Gururaj Naik (Rice University, USA)
  • Teri Odom (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Junghyun Park (Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Michelle Povinelli (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Junsuk Rho (Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Ming-Lun Tseng (National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Taiwan)
  • Augustine Urbas (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Jason Valentine (Vanderbilt University, USA)
  • Nanfang Yu (Columbia University, USA)
  • Seokho Yun (Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Nikolay Zheludev (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)

Symposium Organizers

Howard (Ho Wai) Lee
University of California, Irvine
Department of Physics & Astronomy

Yao-Wei Huang
National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Department of Photonics
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Pin-Chieh Wu
National Cheng Kung University
Department of Photonics

Yang Zhao

University of Western Ontario

Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature



Symposium Support