S23 Landing Banner

Symposium EL21-Materials Research Opportunities for Energy Efficient Computing

The explosion of data witnessed in the fourth industrial revolution, and the processing required to turn that data into useful information, bring an unprecedented need for energy efficient data movement and computation. In the last decade, the rate at which data was generated outpaced improvements in compute efficiency: Data centers consume more than 200 TWh each year, exceeding the total energy consumption of entire countries. Expanded use of the internet, smart phones, and computation in general as billions of people interact with each other and consume processed data is causing all those numbers to escalate. Making computation more energy efficient reduces not only computation cost, but also its energy consumption, enabling batteries to last longer or be smaller for mobile computing. There has been a collective effort among academia, industry, and government to explore multi-faceted approaches for advancing low energy computing. Making computation more energy-efficient saves money, reduces energy use, and herald the advent of entire systems built into high-performance, compact form factors. New materials make possible compute hardware stack elements needed for this revolution. Starting at the smallest scale, there are switching elements that comprise logic and/or memory. These elements are put together at the package level with passives and thermal management solutions by employing fast, low-energy connections to form the most advanced systems-on-a-chip. As materials touch every one of these components, the goal of this Symposium is bringing to front and center the challenges and opportunities that will accelerate materials innovations that enable energy efficient computation. There is already a substantial body of knowledge in this field spanning multiple approaches. The Symposium co-organizers have decided to concentrate specifically on the areas described below.

This Symposium will focus on the microelectronics area and will not cover quantum computing-related materials research and development.

Topics will include:

  • Fundamental limits for computation driving materials solutions
  • Charge based energy efficient devices
  • Non-charge based energy efficient devices
  • Future low energy memory solutions
  • Low energy Interconnects
  • Efficient thermal management
  • Microelectronic packaging (advanced solutions with materials emphasis only)
  • Neuromorphic computing (with materials thrust)
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Inge Asselberghs (imec, Belgium)
  • Xinyu Bao (Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Limited, Taiwan)
  • Florin Ciubotaru (imec, Belgium)
  • Saptarshi Das (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Regina Dittmann (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany)
  • Julie Grollier (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
  • Tuo-Hung (Alex) Hou (National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan)
  • Loius Hutin (Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, France)
  • Asif Khan (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Tsu-Jae King Liu (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Mario Lanza (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Thomas Mikolajick (NaMLab, Germany)
  • Tomás Palacios (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Wolfram Pernice (Universität Münster, Germany)
  • Shaloo Rakheja (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Jayakanth Ravichandran (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Sayeef Salahuddin (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Abu Sebastian (IBM Research-Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Fabio Sebastiano (Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands)
  • Changhwan Shin (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Saima Siddiqui (Intel, USA)
  • Sabina Spiga (CNR Institute for Microelectronics and Microsystems, Italy)
  • Susanne Stemmer (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Sheng-Kai Su (Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Limited, Taiwan)
  • Jamie Teheranie (Texas Instruments, USA)
  • Huili Grace Xing (Cornell University, USA)
  • Ahmad Zubair (Intel, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Subhash L. Shinde
University of Notre Dame
ND Energy

Iuliana Radu
Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Limited

Hui Jae Yoo
Intel Corporation

Heike Riel
IBM Research-Zurich
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature



Symposium Support