S23 Landing Banner

Symposium QM04-Charged Topological Defects in Functional Materials

Topological defects, such as dislocations, vortices, and textures, have been sought after in diverse fields spanning materials science to cosmology. In condensed matter systems, three major classes of materials have been studied for topological defects. These include spin systems such as ferromagnets (spin textures), liquid crystals (dislocations), and dipolar systems such as ferroelectric heterostructures (dislocations, and dipolar textures). Topological defects offer a flexible approach to modify material and device properties, locally and/or globally, and can therefore greatly expand potential functionality and application profile. In addition to that, charged defects can provide the ability to modify and control those additional properties via external fields.

While topological spin structures, such as skyrmions, have been studied extensively over the years, their charge counterparts with breaking of rotational symmetry have started to garner renewed attention. Recent reports on the observation of polar vortices/antivortices in ferroelectric/dielectric oxide heterostructures, and chiral order in halide and chalcogenide materials with reduced dimensionality have created new excitement in this field of study. Motivated by these discoveries, there is a growing interest in tailoring unconventional charged topological defects in a variety of materials that are responsive to electromagnetic radiations, electric and magnetic fields, opening up the prospect of unique coupling between order parameters that was not possible previously, and potentially achieving the levels of control necessary to increase information storage density and decrease power consumption in electronic devices. This emerging field of study therefore provides a novel platform to realize materials, structures and novel devices in electronics and photonics.

In this symposium, we will bring together experts in academia, and national laboratories from around the world, who are pursuing novel approaches to realize, control and understand polarization textures in a broad range of quantum materials such as oxides and chalcogenides. This symposium will cover a range of topics such as charge textures in confined ferroelectric oxides and visible-infrared responsive chalcogenides, novel probes for polarization textures, and development of new foundational theory to explain and guide the realization of polar textures.

Topics will include:

  • Phenomenological and first-principles models to describe stability, dynamics, and properties of charged topological defects
  • Synthesis and characterization of functional materials with charged topological defects
  • Advanced diffraction, scattering and spectroscopic probes of stability and dynamics of charged topological defects
  • Imaging methods to visualize charged topological defects
  • Bulk, surface and interfacial properties arising from topological defects
  • Probing the effect of dimensionality on charged defects such as dislocations, textures, domain boundaries
  • Effect of phase transformations on topological charged defects
  • Applications of charged topological defects in functional materials

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Ritesh Agarwal (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Long-Qing Chen (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Weibo Gao (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Berit Goodge (Cornell University, USA)
  • Marty Gregg (Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom)
  • Jorge Íñiguez (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology, Luxembourg)
  • Gwan-Yeong Jung (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)
  • Qiong Ma (Boston College, USA)
  • Petro Maksymovych (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yufeng Nie (Nanjing University, China)
  • Beatriz Noheda (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Stuart Parkin (Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Germany)
  • Sergei Prokhorenko (University of Arkansas, USA)
  • Ramamoorthy Ramesh (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Yu-Tsun Shao (Cornell University, USA)
  • Naoya Shibata (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Nagarajan Valanoor (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Haidan Wen (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Shuyun Zhou (Tsinghua University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Jayakanth Ravichandran
University of Southern California
Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Albina Borisevich
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Rohan Mishra
Washington University in St. Louis
Department of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science

Han Wang
Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company North America

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature



Symposium Support